Fishing Village Seafood Restaurant, Teluk Bahang, Penang Island

Posted: 2008-10-16 by W in 9.0 - 9.9, Chinese, Dinner, Drink, Eat, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian

The first time I came here was in August with DC. It was for a quickie job which took us overnight to get them done. Our MD were having dinner at this place with other colleagues. He had ordered some takeaways for us as dinner, or supper, judging by the time that we arrived at this place. Our MD got us 3 crabs full of crab roe, salted egg prawns and my favourite, black pepper fried squids. They were really nice despite being cold. So we told ourselves that we MUST come here again for dinner the next time we are in Penang.

And here we are, with HL and LGJ, along with the rest of the SAP consultants. We were bringing them to the paradise of seafood, lucky them.



… we saw our fella colleagues were having cheese lobster the other night. DC has been craving for it ever since. Tonight, he got lucky and he ordered an 850g cheese lobster. It’s a live one, which cost RM22/100g.


… on top of the lobster was a vege with bean curd. I guess that was probably the least tasty item amongst the rest.


… my idol of the evening, black pepper fried squids. Awesome as usual, even better when it was eaten fresh!


… kung pao mantis shrimps, not up to my standard. At least they don’t fry the mantis shrimps in thick frying powder.


… baked roe crabs, just the way I like it like what I had last time.


… kam heong crabs. Very salty and the curry taste was a tad too heavy.


… close up on my favourite fried squid.



… check out those roe, or crab eggs.




… the shell comes off in one whole piece, leaving the meat intact.


… roe, roe, roe your crab…


… DC couldn’t get enough, he ordered the last dish, a steamed fish.

Rating: 9.0/10

It’s no denying that this place was probably one of the best seafood place I’ve ever been to. DC was enjoying every bit of it. He kept saying how nice and how skillful the chef was. It’s really rare to hear that from a fella who was so proud of his self sustained town of seafood, Klang. Not sure about the rest of the members, but I was enjoying the food. Despite having high expectations, the foods didn’t disappoint me a little bit, except for probably 1 or 2 dishes. The dinner cost up to RM422 for up to 7 pax. The lobster itself cost almost RM190 for 850g. I hope to pay that place a visit again on my next visit to Penang.

Lat: 5°27’35.66″N
Long: 100°12’49.40″E

Comments
  1. 12 org. says:

    heard so much about tis so called seafood restaurant, but is nothing special for me + d inpatient/ impolite/ arrogant short/ fat lady (take order) & d foods r just like ‘kampung taste food’ only with add. to d illegal car parking collection by local. will avoid and never go back there again forever!!!

    • W says:

      Sorry to hear about your bad experience. I heard from my colleague that the place changed owner within a year after my blog post. He complained about the food as well, so I never went back there again since.

      When was your visit?

Leave a comment