Lok Khuan, Hong Kong

Posted: 2010-03-02 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Dinner, Drink, Eat, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , ,

... found this shop on the net before I came for dinner.


... 3 items, cost me HKD51.


... Coke with lemon slices, as recommended by ALGJ.


... I've got no idea why I went for the peanut butter toast instead of the polo bun.


... HK is famous for its 干炒牛河 (stir fried flat noodle). See if it's as good as the one I usually have.


... this soup was complimentary.


... the soup was excellent despite being free. The best item during my meal. Ditch the rest!

Rating: 6/10

I found this shop online while pondering what to have for dinner. It was just nearby where I stay hence I decided to just walk over. It was about 500 metres away from my hostel. Unfortunately, the menu was in Chinese, and only Chinese. I was having hard time identifying the items. Fortunately, my shallow knowledge still manages to identify the fried flat noodle. Fried flat noodle was like a superstar in HK dramas and movies, because it’s a common food for the locals here. Hence I always have the impression that it must be very nice, definitely nicer than my country’s local version of fried flat noodle.

When it was served, the aroma was really good. Despite the lacked of taste (healthier HK lifestyle perhaps?), it was still considered good. Though I preferred the one from DoReMi more, which is far more sweeter and saltier. The aroma was comparable too. The toast was nothing to shout about. As for the Coke with lemon, which was highly recommended by ALGJ, it was seriously no difference from those I get in Malaysia. Big boohoo to ALGJ for bluffing.

Despite the mediocre food, fortunate enough the soup was superb. It’s the best stuff served to me on this very evening. The best part was, it’s FREE! The taste was just right, mildly sweetened too. Seeing that most food seems healthier in HK, I believe the flavours from the soup was genuinely boiled from the meat, instead of the magic of Ajinomoto.

4 thumbs up for the soup. If only I have the 5th thumb.

Comments
  1. AT says:

    The干炒牛河look like very oily!!

  2. EL says:

    Called Lok Kuan kot?

Leave a Reply

