Food Republic, Hong Kong

Posted: 2010-03-01 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Drink, Eat, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , ,

... stopped by for a dessert after much walking in the mall.


... LGJ got these for us.


... HL bought these for us.


... I got HL to buy me the mango pomelo dessert.


... this fried oysters was so damn small. From the photo, it seems quite big. Photos can be deceiving or they actually shrank the size of it.


... BBQ pork and roasted goose rice.

Rating: 6/10

Some of the jellies were nice, though others were a little weird. Somehow, I’ve never seen similar stuff over here. The one with red beans were a nice touch as I like red beans. But their red beans were quite tasteless. Only if they were a little sweetened. My mango pomelo dessert were nice, with heavy enough mango flavour in it, despite the bitter taste of the pomelo.

The rice however, wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. I’d thought that every roasted rice would be nice in HK, being the last of roasters. I didn’t opt for the roasted pork because EL ordered roasted pork and I managed to try a piece. As for the roasted goose, it was a nice touch because it’s really difficult to find roasted goose in where I’m from. They don’t serve roasted chicken as well, which I believe that’s a delicacy by the Hailamese.

Comments
  1. YC says:

    Did you try gwai fah gou at dim sum or desert shop ?
    Nice leh..

    • W says:

      Nope, didn’t try that. Never realise about that. I know we missed 山水豆腐花 at 大嶼山, cause none of them bother to stop of it when I asked them to. What a waste.

Leave a Reply

