Nong & Jimmy Thai Seafood BBQ, Ampang

Posted: 2009-11-28 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Dinner, Drink, Eat, GPS, Halal, Non-vegetarian, Thai
Tags: , , , , , , ,

... we occupied 2 tables despite the place was packed with people. But 1 table was too small anyway for the 4 of us.

At first, I’ve got no idea where was this place when my sister told me about it. While on the way, I realised that I’ve came here before, but that was eons ago. Probably 7-8 years back. When we were there, I was thinking we probably can’t get a table cause it was already packed with people. Fortunately, there were 2 tables side by side which could fit the 4 of us, nicely. Though 1 table would do, but I don’t think the table would fit our dishes anyway.

Upon ordering, the lady boss said there are no chickens. They served only “魚、蝦、蟹” (fish, prawn, crab). It sounded funny because “魚蝦蟹” means “et cetera” in Cantonese term. Anyway, we proceed with our order of fried rice as my sister has been praising it. I requested for Tom Yam. What would it be like without Tom Yam when we were in a Thai restaurant, right?

... it was so long ago since I last had a Thai coconut. It was so refreshing and sweet.


... these Chinese crullers similar were little. Probably Thai style crullers. It came with green kaya as condiment, which wasn't too sweet. But the crullers were very oily.

These drink and snack were separately charged. RM4.50 for one coconut was very very costly. The crullers were RM3 per plate. There were only like 11 pieces of them on the place. If given RM3, I think I could have Chinese crullers to my heart’s content.

... condiments for the stuff that we are about to receive.


... there were only 2 choices of vegetables. Kailan and this mixed vegetable.


... this was only plain fried rice, not Thai style fried rice or anything that I was expecting from this place. But there were countless number of prawns in it. Only RM15 for 3 pax portions, very cheap.


... I wasn't too hungry yet, so I wanted something sour to boost my appetite for the dinner.


... this was probably the best tasting grilled squids I've had so far. I was expecting bland tasting grilled squids at first, like I used to have most of the time. But these came as a surprise.


... steamed tilapia. It was somehow prepared in Thai sauce, probably to negates the foul smelling meat of the fish.

Rating: 6/10

Frankly, the nice fried rice was an overstatement. There were a lot of prawns in it for the price of normal fried rice, which was commendable. I guess that’s the reason why most of the tables ordered fried rice, instead of white rice. At only RM5/pax of fried rice, I had at least 5-6 pieces of prawns, average. They were not small either. But in term of the taste department, it tasted like white rice fried in soya sauce. Yup, I could only taste the soya flavour in the rice, nothing else. The egg doesn’t produce any fragrance and the prawns don’t make the rice taste any sweeter either. Anyway, I guess there’s no complain as the portion was big. Mixed vegetables were nothing spectacular either.

The Tom Yam which was prepared in clay pot was acceptable. It was sour and quite thick. Plenty of squids in it and some prawns. Though I prefer a thinner soup base. Grilled squids were my favourite dish of the night. Unlike most grilled squids that I had, this actually tasted salty. And of course, it was best served hot. After it was cold, it no longer taste good anymore. Lastly, the tilapia which was fortunately enough, not very smelly. The meat was soft. Probably because it was prepared in Thai sauce, hence the foul smell was reduced to minimum. Anyway, the sourish and spicy sauce used was very appetizing. I found myself dipping my grilled squids in it and also mixing them into my fried rice.

Location: N3 08.515 E101 45.286

Comments
  1. janice says:

    w.. how to go this place.. is some where near ampang point ma…..?

    • W says:

      It’s in Ampang, nearer to Cheras side. Considered near Ampang Point also gua? Try using that map link provided.

Leave a Reply

