The Wok Cafe, The Strand

Posted: 2009-11-15 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , ,

Cendol

... cendol with gula melaka.


Hokkien Mee

... Hokkien mee ala Nyonya style.


Fried Kuey Teow

... fried kuey teow with sliced sausage and fried pork lard, even cuttlefish rings.


Kerabu Mangga

... kerabu mangga without crispy squid slice.

Rating: 6/10

PG and I came to The Strand, Kota Damansara to check out any appetizing restaurant. We came to The Wok as he first spotted it. At first, I wanted to order dishes and rice, but there were only 2 of us, so I dropped the idea. The cendol looks very similar to those from Malacca. The green jelly tastes pretty good, probably the most tasty I’ve had in KV. Unfortunately, the gula melaka doesn’t have the kind of fragrance I tasted in Malacca. Then the Hokkien mee which was soaked in soup came as a surprised to us. It reminds me of law mee. The taste was so so only and the condiment sambal was nothing to shout about. Fried kuey teow was pretty darn good. I’ve finally found a good enough replacement for SS5A‘s fried kuey teow, but came at a price. It cost RM8 per plate, which is more than double of that I had in SS5. It even has sausage slice and fried pork lard in it. The squid rings came as a bonus, though I don’t think it enhances the taste. Kerabu mangga was like rojak instead, as claimed by PG. I tasted some sugar in it and soaked in prawn paste. I missed the crispy squid slice from the kerabu mangga in my hometown, but this 1 tasted not bad too, not as sour.

I’ll probably come back for its fried kuey teow again, hopefully soon.

Location: N3 09.270 E101 35.572

Leave a Reply

