Kedai Makanan Yut Kee, Dang Wangi

Posted: 2009-10-04 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Breakfast, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , ,

This post will be dedicated for a fan-sy of mine, AT. She has been complaining that I haven’t had any new posts for so long. So, I purposely wake up early in the morning, with lacked of sleep, just to come all the way to Dang Wangi for some breakfast that I’ve never written before. Though I’ve been to this place once, so long ago. More than 3 years ago though. But I don’t have much recollection of what I’ve had back then.

... each item of outside food will be charged.

... each item of outside food will be charged.


... we were given a whole bottle of Lea & Perrins soya sauce. Reminds me of Ramli Burger at Taman Paramount.

... we were given a whole bottle of Lea & Perrins soya sauce. Reminds me of the Ramli Burger at Taman Paramount.


... iced kopi-o.

... iced kopi-o.


... chicken chop, Hainanese style.

... chicken chop, Hainanese style.


... Hainanese noodle, doesn't look good. Fortunately the taste wasn't bad.

... Hainanese noodle, doesn't look good. Fortunately the taste wasn't bad.


... porridge, tasted pretty bland.

... porridge, tasted pretty bland.


... the notorious roti babi (pork bread).

... the notorious roti babi (pork bread).


... take a peek on the inside.

... take a peek on the inside.


... roasted pork, each plate cost RM10.

... roasted pork, each plate cost RM10.


... served with white wine apple sauce.

... served with white wine apple sauce.

Rating: 5/10

I’ve mixed feelings on the food served here. Firstly, the chicken chop was rather unattractive. Probably because it was already soggy from soaking in the brown sauce or maybe because it took them less than 5 minutes to serve it right after we’ve placed our order. Either way, the chicken chop wasn’t as nice as I thought it would be. Then the Hainanese noodle, which came as a surprise. From the looks of it, it was rather unappetizing. Fortunately, it wasn’t the case for its taste. I find it rather good. Though I can’t be sure if I could finish up the whole plate all by myself. My appetite conscience probably gonna kills me.

The roti babi was very nice, aside from the rather oily bread. It seemed to be prepared in a hurry. Reminded me a little of the treasure chest of Taiwanese street snack. It has minced pork and even some sliced sausages. Tasted a tad sweet. It was nice, better if the bread wasn’t so oily. Porridge was a blasphemy. It was bland and we couldn’t even finish 1/2 of it.

Finally, special roast pork of the place, which started serving only at 11:30am. The skin was super crispy and it sort of came off, detached from the meat. Unlike my favourite roasted pork, the fats here don’t melt in my mouth, nor the lean meat was tender and soft. A rather bad dish if you don’t take the roasted skin.

Location: N3 09.373 E101 42.011

*Photos courtesy of Damien Loong

Comments
  1. EL says:

    Why AT is your fan-sy or ur blog?
    she got complaints about your long time no post foodwhore meh?

Leave a Reply

