Cia Xiang Seafood Restaurant, Bukit Tambun

Posted: 2009-08-30 by W in 3.0 - 3.9, Chinese, Eat, GPS, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , ,

This place was recommended to me by a fellow colleague, cause he came across a flogger’s article regarding the food here and thought I might be interested to give it a try. On the day we were heading back to KV, we stopped by here for lunch, sacrificing the much talked about yam rice, which was not far away.

... the place with double standard name. I thought I was lost at first.

... the place with double standard name. I thought I was lost at first.


... vege, which was similar to what we get yesterday, small portion.

... vege, which was similar to what we get yesterday, small portion.


... Guinness Stout spare ribs.

... Guinness Stout spare ribs.


... the famous dish at this place, the clay pot crab rice.

... the famous dish at this place, the clay pot crab rice.


... fish with kuay teow in it.

... fish with kuay teow in it.

Rating: 3/10

The vegetable, similar to our dinner last night, was very small in portion. Fortunately, it wasn’t as salty as the one we had last night. The spare ribs cooked in Guinness Stout was rather disappointing. I would be expecting it to be better than those I could find in KV, unfortunately, it has plenty of fats or skins. I can’t really distinguish if they were fats or skins under those colour, which made the whole chewing experience really bad. Besides, the taste wasn’t that good either. Any one of those Guinness Stout spare ribs I had in KV is better than this.

Everyone seems to be ordering the same thing, the clay pot crab rice. Unfortunately, it doesn’t taste any good at all. The rice, which seemed similar to other clay pot rice, darkened with soya sauce. Somehow, the rice was tasteless to me. With the crabs being placed on top of the rice and cooked in the clay pot, I was expecting the rice to have the sweetness of the crab’s essence. Similar to the fried vermicelli with crab, which made the whole vermicelli smells very crabby. When I have the crab, the meat was tasteless too. I’m not sure if it was due to the lacked of freshness of the crab, or the crab just crappy. Meat wise, they certainly wasn’t that bad, but it just tasteless. I wondered what happened.

Lastly, the fish was still acceptable. Somehow, the choi bou was not crispy. Maybe they turned soggy after I took my photos? The bill came up to RM92 for the 5 of us, which took us completely off guard, as our dinner last night cost us only RM101.

The order was made based on CK Lam’s recommendations at What2See. Somehow, I’m sensing that she shares the same sentiment with KY Speaks when it comes to food.

Location: N5 16.437 E100 27.457

Comments
  1. KH Ng says:

    Hi Have the same experience – potion was small and the food abit pricey.
    Disappointed with the Claypot crab rice – No essence of crab smell or taste ?

    What was the Yam Rice or Yam Duck or Yam Fish head ….. heard but not seen ?

    Some comments …. to share ….

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

