Kwai Lam Seafood Restaurant, Kampung Baru Subang

Posted: 2009-07-18 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Dinner, Eat, GPS, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , ,

Initially, I thought I would be going to Loong Grilled Fish in NZX. Then when I got into the car, DL said he wanted to eat crabs at Kwai Lam instead. I was bedazzled as I don’t know where’s that place. It turns out that I’ve been there once, quite long ago. Probably more than 1 year ago.

... 2 types of condiments. Left one for the grilled fish and right one, for anything.

... 2 types of condiments. Left one for the grilled fish and right one, for anything.


... stir fried yau mak.

... stir fried yau mak.


... choi sum fah in oyster sauce. There were some fried pork lards on it.

... choi sum fah in oyster sauce. There were some fried pork lards on it.


... I dunno what style was this toufu called, but the gravy was full of pepper.

... I dunno what style was this toufu called, but the gravy was full of pepper.


... this grilled stingray has exceptional sauce. Unlike others, this 1 tasted like tumeric with ginger, which was very nice.

... this grilled stingray has exceptional sauce. Unlike others, this 1 tasted like tumeric with ginger, which was very nice.


... fried chicken wings was 1 of the signature dish here.

... fried chicken wings was 1 of the signature dish here.


... DL was craving for some crabs, hence there's no escaping it.

... DL was craving for some crabs, hence there's no escaping it.

Rating: 6.5/10

The stir fried yau mak was very nice. It was nicely salted and plenty of chopped garlic. The taste was just right I found myself can’t stop eating it. Then come the choi sum fah, which has a few fried pork lards on top of it. Despite the most favourable fried pork lards, it doesn’t turn out as good as the stir fried yau mak. Besides, oyster sauce wasn’t exactly good for my strict diet.

The bean curd soaked in watery gravy was not that good. I don’t even remember the taste of the bean curds, except for the overly peppered gravy. Such a forgettable dish. I don’t even remember how many piece of bean curd I had. I could only remember there was 1 piece of bean curd leftover. Nobody claims it.

The grilled fish was a surprise. I was expecting the fish to be laden with the usual sambal. The restaurant’s own concoction of the turmeric sauce reminds me of the fried fish with ginger that my mum used to make. It was nice and different when applied to grilled fish. The fish was fresh too and the second half of the fish didn’t stick to the leaf that was served at the bottom of it.

The fried chicken wings were nice too. They were rather huge compared to other chicken wings I’ve had, especially KFC’s. I was afraid that I might feel glutton for having 2 pieces of chicken wings as there was still 1 more dish that haven’t been served. Finally, the kam heong crabs was served. It was exceptionally dry, as DL commented. Taste wise, it was very salty, like most kam heong does. The crabs were quite fresh. The only turn off was, the top shell of the crab was empty. I was very disappointed.

Overall, the dinner was satisfying, except for the few glitches. The seafood were fresh enough though the price came up to RM97 for the 3 of us, which I find it quite steep.

Location: N3 08.510 E101 32.234

Leave a Reply

