Yan Yan A One Restaurant, Old Klang Road

Posted: 2009-06-20 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

... this place was recommended by MH when we asked if there's anything nice around the area we were at.

... this place was recommended by MH when we asked if there's anything nice around the area we were at.


... not so complimentary peanuts.

... not so complimentary peanuts.


... PG ordered this out of norm. I was surprised he suddenly so interested in pork belly with salted fish.

... PG ordered this out of norm. I was surprised he suddenly so interested in pork belly with salted fish.


... I wanted something different, hence I ordered kai lan this time.

... I wanted something different, hence I ordered kai lan this time.


... PG shouted at hot plate bean curd while the lady boss was busy explaining on their signature tofu dish.

... PG shouted at hot plate bean curd while the lady boss was busy explaining on their signature tofu dish.


... DL said, make sure there's at least 1 fish dish. Knowing he loves Teo Chew steamed with super sour. This was a special request with pH2.5 soup. Look at the leakage at the bottom of the pan.

... DL said, make sure there's at least 1 fish dish. Knowing he loves Teo Chew steamed with super sour. This was a special request with pH2.5 soup. Look at the leakage at the bottom of the pan.

Rating: 6/10

This place was a pretty good one, amidst the bad lighting conditions. The clay pot pork belly with salted fish was quite nice. PG was asking for all lean meat at first, but the lady boss assured him that it has to be taken with fats on the meat and no one asked for lean meat only for such dish. I was chuckling away at my table corner (though the table was round, somehow I managed to find a corner for myself). The gravy was sweetened though. Then the stir fried kai lan was amazing. The taste was just right, not too salty and the feeling of healthy dish as it wasn’t too salty like other places. I felt so contented with it.

Hot plate bean curd was nice, but I still preferred my favourite hot plate bean curd laden with superb mushroom sauce. Only to be found in Subang Hi-Tech. Finally, when the fish was served, I was almost blinded by the acidic vapour billowing up from the plate. The soup was super sour and super salty at the same time. A pH2.5 kind of soup. DL loves it, I can’t take it any longer. I thought I lost my tongue from the corrosion.

A place worth another visit, maybe not going to challenge the lady boss for an “extra sour” Teo Chew style steamed fish.

Location: N3 05.860 E101 40.520

Leave a Reply

