Restoran Yap Yin & Bak Kut Teh, Seri Kembangan

Posted: 2009-06-07 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Chinese, GPS, Lunch, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , ,

Today, I went for lunch with DL and MH. KCWK tagged along as well because he was let out of prison by his wife. At first, DL suggested that we have lunch in Yap Yin in Seri Kembangan. My first response was, “I can’t have stuff there while being on my strict diet.” He assured me that we were gonna have porridge there. So I agreed, thinking that maybe porridge would be something light, something like Teo Chew porridge.

Anyway, what follows weren’t exactly strict diet, per se…

... according to DL, this piece of land used to host a restaurant. Apparently, Yap Yin has took over it and flatten it into a parking area.

... according to DL, this piece of land used to host a restaurant. Apparently, Yap Yin has took over it and flatten it into a parking area.


... the rather subtle restaurant.

... the rather subtle restaurant.


... no tea for the day, I had Coke. Which wasn't good for my strict diet either.

... no tea for the day, I had Coke. Which wasn't good for my strict diet either.


... stir fried yau mak. I missed Sek Yuen's vege.

... stir fried yau mak. I missed Sek Yuen's vege.


... deep fried bean curd with crispy skin

... deep fried bean curd with crispy skin


... kung pao eel, the cheaper version of unagi.

... kung pao eel, the cheaper version of unagi.


... steamed snakehead fish in soya sauce.

... steamed snakehead fish in soya sauce.

Rating: 5/10

Aside from the vegetable being a bit bland, the rest of the dishes were overly salty. I had to have my vegetable with soya sauce jalapeno mix. MH was laughing at my concoction. Little did he know, that was probably the best way to eat bland vegetables. The bean curd has crispy skin but the soya sauce was very salty. I was surprised by it too, as the top was laden with little anchovies and those anchovies were camouflaged with spring onions. Oh well, since KCWK was able to be let of out prison today, why not me?

I was expecting the kung pao eels to be sweetened. Instead, it was another very salty dish. Lacked of sliced ginger too. The eels weren’t tender enough. I guess it’s still better to eat unagi. Then the snakehead fish, cut into slices and debone, just like the eels. I was sceptical to swallow a whole piece at first, so I have it in smaller piece, afraid that bones might stuck in my throat. The chef was good in deboning the fish, it was perfect. The meat was tender and not too soft but the very salty soya sauce didn’t sip well into the meat of the fish.

... a little sneak preview of what's coming next.

... a little sneak preview of what's coming next.

After all these, I asked DL about the big pincer crabs. He said just go ahead and order while giving me the smirk, at the notion of my strict diet. I took the challenged and told him, let’s get 2 crabs, 1 pincer for each of us since I don’t get any pincer yesterday. My niece got them all.

... 2 kam heong crabs for the 4 of us. Just right.

... 2 kam heong crabs for the 4 of us. Just right.


... huge pincers? Not as huge as I expected.

... huge pincers? Not as huge as I expected.


... in comparison to the fork.

... in comparison to the fork.


... the meat doesn't stick to the shell, good good.

... the meat doesn't stick to the shell, good good.

Another very salty dish. Since I’ve finished my rice, I could put all my concentrations on the crab itself. The kam heong sauce looked damn good, I wished I’ve got bread to go with it. Good thing was, there were still plenty of roe in the shell, but MH had the fatter one. Anyway, since I had my dosage of crab roe yesterday, I’ve got no complain today. Yummy!

The bill came up to RM130+ for the 4 of us. I wonder what kind of soya sauce they used there, it was very salty. A perfect place for salty worms to dine.

Location: N3 01.307 E101 42.261

Leave a Reply

