Restoran Long Grilled Fish Seafood, Jinjang Utara

Posted: 2009-05-28 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Dinner, Eat, GPS, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , ,

After our work at OH in Jalan Ipoh, HL said it’s better we have dinner before going back office due to the bad jam. Since we were nearby Jinjang, so I recommended them my favourite fried little squids place, which is just nearby. Though it took us almost 1 hour to reach that place, due to the bad jam from Jalan Ipoh to Jinjang. It’s been so long since I last came here, probably more than a year or 2. I’ve since forgotten which junction to turn in, fortunately I suddenly thought of the name and able to find it on GPS. Lucky for me, the other 2 restaurants beside this was not POI-ed by the community. I guess this shows that this place is the better one than the other 2.

HL said he doesn’t want to have rice. Diet? Now he knows he’s fat. So we ended up with vermicelli and noodle only.

... the costly menu signboard with florescent lamps.

... the costly menu signboard with florescent lamps.


... this was recommended by the lady (as shown in above picture).

... this was recommended by the lady (as shown in above picture).


... I asked for the Seremban style fried rat tail noodle, but she cut me off with something called the "rainbow rat tail noodle" instead. Little did I know, it wasn't fried! Disappointing.

... I asked for the Seremban style fried rat tail noodle, but she cut me off with something called the "rainbow rat tail noodle" instead. Little did I know, it wasn't fried! Disappointing.


... my favourite of them all. Just can't do without them.

... my favourite of them all. Just can't do without them.

Rating: 6.5/10

Firstly, the fried vermicelli in clams was served. I was having trouble eating that because the clams used were so tiny. It was difficult to pick them out, even more difficult than picking chopped sausages in a fried rice, because the vermicelli tends to get in the way. Like HL said, it was a little bit dry though. Then came the surprised, the “rainbow rat tail noodle”. I thought it would be fried. Anyway, the rat tail noodles were pretty tasteless, the shark’s fins style soup too. Despite plenty of crab meat in it, it tasted just salty and lacked the sweetness from the crab meat. I could even find crab’s roe in the soup. There goes my strict diet, but then, I couldn’t possibly pick out every single strand of crab meat, could I?

Finally, the star of the night was served. The fried little squids were full glazed in delicious looking dark sauce. The last few time I had this, they weren’t glazed in so much of sauce. It reminded me of my hometown’s fried little squids, except the sauce here was so much saltier. Fortunately, it was made up by the super crunchy deep fried squids. Regrettably, I’ve had quite a few of it, about 6 pieces. I guess I just can’t keep my promise of not having meat. But I’m a sucker for this. So, screw my strict diet! At least, for this time. *hehe* (I could hear DL calling me “hao poh” already)

Major failure tonight? Almost, but saved by the fried squids. Perhaps we should have just stick to having rice and dishes.

Location: N3 12.743 E101 39.495

*photos courtesy of DC.

Leave a Reply

