Penang Fried Kuey Teow @ Sun Hin Loong Restaurant, SS2

Posted: 2009-05-17 by W in 4.0 - 4.9, Chinese, Dinner, Drink, Eat, GPS, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: ,

DL told me that his favourite fried kuey teow was in Sun Hin Loong. I remember last time I had it once and I don’t like it, because it was not as nice as my favourite fried kuey teow. Reason being that DL preferred this is because it was not as wet as the Penang fried kuey teow @ Restoran Jamal Mohamed. Well, since Koon Kee was closed today, I went to give it a shot, reluctantly.

... this was my favourite drink here. Until I had too much and started to have green pee, I stopped drinking it.

... this was my favourite drink here. Until I had too much and started to have green pee, I stopped drinking it.


... I listened to DL and came to try out the improved fried kuey teow.

... I listened to DL and came to try out the improved fried kuey teow.


... plenty of prawns and cockles.

... plenty of prawns and cockles.

Rating: 4/10

It was so long ago since I last had wheat grass drink. I guess I’ve almost forgotten how good it tasted. Hope I don’t turn green later tonight.

When my fried kuey teow was served, it looked pretty nice. Reddish instead of brownish, much like my favourite fried kuey teow, though not as fiery red. I had a look at the stall again, it says “Penang Fried Kuey Teow”. I guess that’s the reason why it was having the similar reddish colour and not darker colour. After having my first bite, it was rather spicy at first, due to it being hot as well. I like the spiciness on it. As for the taste, it was a big let down. The chili paste used was definitely no where near as tasty as one one at Restoran Jamal Mohamed. I could taste heavy usage of soya sauce, which probably clouded the chili paste taste. Could’ve used a little bit sugar on the chili paste though. And the poor egg, it couldn’t even show its full potential on a plate of fried kuey teow. I bet the egg felt crippled by those soya sauce and crying for help.

I think DL should get his tongue checked. All those smoking and stuff are definitely killing his taste bud. Oh and the only thing good here was that there were more prawns, but the cockles looked very unappetizing though. Anyhow, I can’t have them because of my strict diet.

Location: N3 07.199 E101 37.282

Leave a Reply

