Maggi Mini Snek Asam Laksa

Posted: 2009-05-16 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Chinese, Eat, Halal, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , ,

Finally, I’ve waited until weekend to try the last flavour of instant noodle I have in my collection. The Maggi Mini Snek of Asam Laksa flavour. I’ve cooked it using the conventional way, with soup. it was very very sour. At least it has improved over the previous Maggi Asam Laksa flavour, which I sort of hated. Anyway, the cooking was a breeze as this get soaked up pretty quickly compared to conventional instant noodle. I had 2 packs of it before 1 was too little for my lunch.

... after cooking before stirring it.

... after cooking before stirring it.


... after stirring it. The colour was rather bright.

... after stirring it. The colour was rather bright.

Rating: 5.5/10

The dried style was pretty similar to the tom yam flavour I’ve had, where it wasn’t much difference from the soup. It wasn’t extremely sourish either. But the noodle hold up pretty well. Much better than the tom yam’s noodle. Not sure if I didn’t stir well or the seasoning doesn’t dilute properly in the mildly moist noodle, I could taste a bit sandy texture on the noodle. Maybe it stays true to its origin, where the soup was supposed to have sandy texture. I prefer the colour on the tom yam’s though, because it looked much more appetizing as dried noodle.

Comments
  1. Crys says:

    Where did you find this? I have been scouring food stores throughout NJ, NY and the Internet in search for these!

    • W says:

      Sorry to say that, this is mainly a local delicacy. I’m afraid your place (USA?) is very difficult to find it. Unless you manage to get someone to smuggle it for you.

      Maybe you can try eBay first?

Leave a Reply

