HGY recommended this place to me some time ago, She can’t remember the name but instead gave me a link to it. Based on the road instructions given on the website, I managed to extrapolate the location of the restaurant and set my GPS POI. Finally, I managed to give it a try because my colleagues and I were in Jalan Ipoh.

... there were 2 sprinkler on top of the makeshift stall to keep the place from roasted.

... there were 2 sprinkler on top of the makeshift stall to keep the place from roasted.


... healthy cup of drink that goes with my strict diet.

... healthy cup of drink that goes with my strict diet.


... vegetable in belacan. LMK's idea. I still think that water spinach or yau mak (a kind of lettuce) still the best for belacan style.

... vegetable in belacan. LMK's idea. I still think that water spinach or yau mak (a kind of lettuce) still the best for belacan style.


... HGY recommended the fried bean curd skin while the lady boss recommended this combo.

... HGY recommended the fried bean curd skin while the lady boss recommended this combo.


... the star of the day, the stir-fry roasted pork.

... the star of the day, the stir-fry roasted pork.


... this cryster bean curd was recommended by the lady boss.

... this cryster bean curd was recommended by the lady boss.


... a choice between red snapper and star grouper. The star grouper cost RM4 extra, hence we go with it.

... a choice between red snapper and star grouper. The star grouper cost RM4 extra, hence we go with it.


... complimentary papaya and pineapple.

... complimentary papaya and pineapple.

Rating: 6/10

My conclusion would be, the taste were rather mild. Not too salty or too tasteless in flavour. Pretty average that gave you the feeling of healthy in the flavour department. Firstly, the belacan vege. It lacked the little shrimps in it. I don’t have complains on that because I can’t eat them anyway. But I’ve had better belacan style vege though. Yet DL was complaining that Canton Fare‘s belacan style water spinach was lacked of little shrimps. Wait till he try this one here.

Then, to the fried stuff. The fried bean curd skin was really nice. The crispy skin and the pretty tasteless fish paste in it. And the crispy skin… have I mentioned crispy skin already? The other item which people used it to play the Tower of Hanoi was pretty tasteless too. I can’t make out what was in it actually. The stir-fry roasted pork was nice. Though it wasn’t how I expected it to be, like BBQ pork. It was good in its way and the skin was still very crispy. Just that I don’t really taste anything roasted pork in it at all. There were plenty of jalapeno used but the whole dish was not spicy at all. I wondered if those chopped up jalapeno were for show only.

The crystal bean curd was acceptable. I like the sauce in it, though the rest of them do not like it that much. But it turns out not so good when it was cold. I guess I’m turning into a vegan soon as I find it nice, especially the sauce. God forbids what’s in the sauce, I hope it wasn’t mushroom sauce, else there goes my strict diet. Lastly, it was the fish. I guess it was the best on the table. The fish was fresh and it doesn’t have bad smell to it. Though the teochew style sauce could use a little more sour plums because it wasn’t sour at all unless I suck on the sour plums on the plate.

Lastly, we were given a plate of complimentary fruits. The bill came up to RM90 for 4 pax. Pretty reasonable. I might go there again perhaps, mainly because the fish was nice and the place wasn’t that hot, thanks to the sprinkler idea.

Location: N3 11.043 E101 40.180

Leave a Reply

