Went to Tai Thong with ALGJ, LGFL, TSL and WWS. I heard they said Tai Thong is having promotions on their dim sum, hence I agreed to go along. I guess I’ll just exempt from my strict diet for my lunch, and continue later during my dinner.

... these steamed peanuts were good. Soft, tasty and juicy. I wonder if they were once soaked in soya sauce.

... these steamed peanuts were good. Soft, tasty and juicy. I wonder if they were once soaked in soya sauce.


... these fried bean curd skin prawn rolls were really nice, served with custard as condiment too.

... these fried bean curd skin prawn rolls were really nice, served with custard as condiment too.


... my last experience with Tai Thong's egg tarts was a good one, so I definitely won't give it a miss this time.

... my last experience with Tai Thong's egg tarts was a good one, so I definitely won't give it a miss this time.


... the inside of the egg custard looked so yellowish.

... the inside of the egg custard looked so yellowish.


... these sesame balls, or "jin dui" (煎堆) were filled with lotus paste.

... these sesame balls, or "jin dui" (煎堆) were filled with lotus paste.


... these yam dumplings looked nice.

... these yam dumplings looked nice.


... pan fried carrot cakes.

... pan fried carrot cakes.


... I didn't touch these BBQ pork buns at all.

... I didn't touch these BBQ pork buns at all.


... too bad, these steamed bean curd skin doesn't contain prawns in it.

... too bad, these steamed bean curd skin doesn't contain prawns in it.


... the crazy women ordered 2 baskets of these siew mai.

... the crazy women ordered 2 baskets of these siew mai.


... the chicken feet looked tasty. I would have had it if I wasn't on strict diet.

... the chicken feet looked tasty. I would have had it if I wasn't on strict diet.


... the glutinous rice in this was quite nice, but not on the inside part, which was very soft.

... the glutinous rice in this was quite nice, but not on the inside part, which was very soft.

Rating: 5.5/10

Other than the super steamed steamed peanuts and fried bean curd prawn roll, there were nothing else worth noting. The glutinous rice was nice too but the inside was too soft. The one I had in Foh San was much better. The steamed bean curd skin was really bad. It has nothing but just the bean curd skin rolled up. Yam dumpling looked good, but tasted otherwise. Lacked of any yam taste in it and I could barely make out what’s in the content. Siew mai was nothing to shout about. The mini egg tarts were rather disappointing. I guess they has butter in the egg custard because it tasted like so and the colour was very yellowish. Carrot cake was still ok. Didn’t touch the BBQ bun as I knew it probably tasted bad. TSL tried it and she can’t even finish 1/2 a bun. I guess that’s evident enough that the BBQ pork buns were bad.

With the 20% and 50% discounts, the bill came up to RM84+ for the 5 of us. The prices on the list seemed marked up before they were given discount. Anyway, Tai Thong was probably that expensive when it comes to dim sum.

Location: N3 04.431 E101 35.137

Leave a Reply

