Restoran Ayam Penyet RIA, Sunway Mentari

Posted: 2009-05-04 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Dinner, Drink, Eat, GPS, Halal, Maiden Experience, Malay, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve promised AC that I’d go to have ayam penyet with him last week. But suddenly, I had to follow my strict diet due to unforeseen circumstances. So, this week, he has the word “penyet” plastered all over his GoogleTalk client. I guess I had to give in and go with him for once. I guess it wouldn’t hurt, besides I really wanna give it a try too.

At first, I thought we’ve agreed on dining in Restoran Ayam Penyet-AP, ended up we came to Restoran Ayam Penyet RIA instead. AC said, he’s heard of quite a few good recommendations pointing to Restoran Ayam Penyet RIA and most of the Google searches point to here as well. Oh well, we can always go for Restoran Ayam Penyet-AP at a later time.

... the shop.

... the shop.


... write your order on the paper, 1 for beverages, the other for the food.

... write your order on the paper, 1 for beverages, the other for the food.


... the colourful menu, so penyet feel.

... the colourful menu, so penyet feel.


.. the mother of all penyets? Monyet more like it. Haha!

.. the mother of all penyets? Monyet more like it. Haha!


... longan with black jelly. Super sweeeeet!

... longan with black jelly. Super sweeeeet!


... my ayam penyet.

... my ayam penyet.


... AC's lele penyet. Deep fried cat fish.

... AC's lele penyet. Deep fried cat fish.


... gotta try the gado-gado cause our main course don't look filling enough.

... gotta try the gado-gado cause our main course don't look filling enough.

Rating: 6/10

Firstly, the drink was very sweet. At first I thought he was sucking straight from the sugar water. Then after I mixed mine evenly, it was still very sweet. Aside from the canned longan drink, they even put in extra sugar water. That’s crazy. Luckily I didn’t go for the bandung, thanks to my paranoid in sticking to my strict diet (in fact, the strict diet seems to be looser and looser by the day…).

In the beginning, I’ve already told him that I could only have 3x matchbox size of chicken meat, hence I only had 1/3 of my chicken thigh, roughly. He gave me a bit of his fish meat. It was seriously a bit, so bit that it would just fill the gaps of my teeth. The fish very deep fried till crisp, very nice and crispy. I think I’ll go for the fish next time, but AC said the fish was not filling enough, too little meat. Luckily he has my chicken too.

My chicken was quite nice but nothing to shout about. The tempeh was not sourish, which was good. There were plenty of those crunchy bits too, but 1/2 of them were only on the chicken while half of them were underneath the chili sauce. That chili sauce was extremely crazy. AC gave it an 11/10 on spicy rating. I guess I had to give it an infinity. Though I’d still prefer Waroeng Penyet’s belacan which is not as spicy too. Our penyet came with water spinach too, which is neat. Waroeng Penyet’s lacked the water spinach despite cost RM0.90 more than this.

The gado-gado has abundance of prawn crackers, but the peanut sauce just not as good as the one I had in Waroeng Penyet. At least it doesn’t have sourish and rotten tempeh and crab roe-like bean curds. Unfortunately, the place doesn’t serve grilled chicken like in Waroeng Penyet too. AC said he’d wanna try the beef penyet next time.

Location N3 04.484 E101 36.654

Leave a Reply

