Restoran Pun Chun, Bidor

Posted: 2009-05-02 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Dinner, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: ,

We stopped by Bidor for dinner while the other car went straight ahead back to KV. It was only 5pm, though quite early for a dinner but since we were already here, we might as well stop by for the infamous duck thigh noodle. CKC was practically flooding the car with his saliva when talking about it.

By the time we left the toll and reached Bidor, it was raining so heavily. We would cancel the plan if the rain won’t stop and if we parked faraway from the place. CKC was busy saying prayers in the car. He was calling out for Jesus, though he wasn’t a Christian. Then the rain subsided a little. It seemed his prayers really worked. Unfortunately, by the time we found a parking, the rain was not light enough for us to sprint toward the shop. Then we decided to try our luck again looking for a nearer parking. CKC tried his prayers again while we looked for better parking spot. Finally, we found a much nearer spot and by the time KCWK parked the car, the rain has stopped.

... this place is famous for its duck thigh noodle.

... this place is famous for its duck thigh noodle.


... I didnt get to taste them. I think the duck meat was already killing me.

... I didnt get to taste them. I think the duck meat was already killing me.


... look at the size of the drumstick.

... look at the size of the drumstick.


... feeling hungry yet?

... feeling hungry yet?

Rating: 6.5/10

I’ve had mixed feeling eating this bowl of duck thigh noodle. Firstly, I felt really guilty because I just threw my strict diet down the drain for having duck meat, again. Secondly, I was trying hard to figure out whether the duck was roasted first then threw into the soup and left it for boiling. Back to the noodle, the cook was pretty lazy on my bowl. The wanton noodle used was not fully separately nicely. I get pieces that lodged together, which was kind of turn off to eat. Then the soup, it was quite nice because it was a herbal kind of soup. I could spot some wolfberries in it. But it was very oily as well, mainly contributed by the duck. Then the duck meat, which doesn’t feel like duck meat. It wasn’t sinewy, perhaps it was cooked in soup and not roasted, hence it retains its tenderness. The meat was tasty of course.

Overall, the bowl of noodle was very nice, but I don’t think I’d crave for it though, even if I happens to stop by Bidor again. I guess I’m just not a duck-person. In the end, I finished the whole thing except the duck skin, with an extra 1/2 drumstick left from KCWK whom asked for only the soup. He’s missing the good stuff, man.

Finally, the best part would’ve been the prayers by CKC, which seemed to stopped the rain. Now I know that God answers to non believer too.

Location: N4 06.699 E101 17.260

Leave a Reply

