Funny Mountain Soya Bean, Ipoh

Posted: 2009-05-01 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Pork Free, Snack, Vegetarian
Tags: , ,

After having our snack egg tarts, we walked back all the way to our cars. I wished I don’t have to go through that journey with my aching foot. Despite it was in the middle of the hot sunny day, our cars were under shade by the large building in front of it. I guess it wasn’t all that bad after all.

Our next stop, Funny Mountain Soya Bean…

... Funny Mountain, hehe. The name was so damn funny.

... Funny Mountain, hehe. The name was so damn funny.


... Mein Gott in Himmel! Look at the queue!

... Mein Gott in Himmel! Look at the queue!


... let me just put this straight. I thought the queue was long because there's a pretty girl (豆腐西施) selling the tau fu fah, but I was wrong.

... let me just put this straight. I thought the queue was long because there's a pretty girl (豆腐西施) selling the tau fu fah, but I was wrong.


... smooth tau fu fah.

... smooth tau fu fah.

Rating: 6.5/10

I can’t stop laughing at the funny name this place has. When we drove pass the place, it was packed with people too. Instead of simply crowded, the shop was under queue by people. The people queued all the way across the other side of the wide road. Ok, I made up that last sentence, but the queue did turn me off. I was telling KCWK, it was perhaps of his posts into Lowyat Forum and those people start following our itinerary too, hence the crowds on all the places we went.

Someone queued up for the tau fu fah, while the rest of us took some photographs. Later I realised that they provide drive-thru service as well and worse, priority was given to the drive-thru customers! We should have done the same too to avoid all the disappointment and sweat like mad. After about 10 minutes of wait, we finally get our tau fu far and we walked back to KCWK’s car and eat there.

The tau fu fah was smooth, really smooth. The sugar water was good too, but a tad too sweet though. But such smooth tau fu fah, I could get in OUG as well. So this doesn’t worth the 200km+ of travelling to Ipoh for a good bowl of tau fu fah. Besides, the OUG one has 豆腐西施.

While eating halfway, we were greeted by a woman passerby, an insane 1 perhaps. She was telling us that the tau fu fah was not good, it has hardening agent in it. She also claimed that it took the life of her daughter, but due to her financial status, she wasn’t able to publish that news on the local newspaper. The ranting went on and on for another 5 minutes. All of us were basically ignoring her, except for CKC was entertaining her with nods and stuff, yet he still cleaned his bowl of tau fu fah. Ipoh is full of surprises. First, the tau fu fah selling males, then the insane woman.

I want my 豆腐西施!

Location: N4 35.684 E101 05.067

PS: DL got highed after the tau fu fah and he christened the place Ganja Mountain (ganja = marijuana). Deep down in my heart, he wanted to Brokeback Mountain the place instead.

Leave a Reply

