Sakae Sushi, Subang Parade

Posted: 2009-04-30 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Dinner, Drink, Eat, Japanese, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian, Pork Free

MSF called for dinner tonight. If it wasn’t for her, I would’ve ended up with Maggi instant noodle. I told her that I wanted and had to take sushi only. She was surpried that my diet doesn’t allow sushi. Then I explained to her that sushi is actually very healthy, provided that I don’t take anything with meat on it. She agreed on it on a win-win situtation, where I get my balanced diet and she get her luxurious dinner. So I gathered the usual people, but only KUMA and WWS able to make it. Then EL joined us later after we started eating.

... the secret to my appetizing dinner today would be the wasabi mix.

... the secret to my appetizing dinner today would be the wasabi mix.


... I can't take tea, hence I get a fruit drink.

... I can't take tea, hence I get a fruit drink.


... the colour of the drink.

... the colour of the drink.


... close up, you could see Nata de Coco in it. It claims to have 25% Nata de Coco and 25% grape juice. The rest are flavouring, sweetener and stuff.

... close up, you could see Nata de Coco in it. It claims to have 25% Nata de Coco and 25% grape juice. The rest are flavouring, sweetener and stuff.


... first order of the dinner. Fortunately, tofu is allowable in my diet.

... first order of the dinner. Fortunately, tofu is allowable in my diet.


... hopefully this doesn't bring any ill effect. I supposed it's alright, since it doesn't contain any meat.

... hopefully this doesn't bring any ill effect. I supposed it's alright, since it doesn't contain any meat.


... the egg mayo has got pinch of fish roe on top of it.

... the egg mayo has got pinch of fish roe on top of it.


... the other piece of egg mayo, which is just rice with the sweet tofu skin.

... the other piece of egg mayo, which is just rice with the sweet tofu skin.


... I can eat this peacefully because it has no meat in it and the vegetables used were safe for my diet.

... I can eat this peacefully because it has no meat in it and the vegetables used were safe for my diet.


... this is Potato Salad... err... not sushi. Because it has no rice in it.

... this is Potato Salad... err... not sushi. Because it has no rice in it.


... another vegetarian dish. The only thing I can't eat here is the mushroom.

... another vegetarian dish. The only thing I can't eat here is the mushroom.


... gotta try the garlic fried rice. Unfortunately, not that tasty. The salt was not even, some piece of the rice was extra salty.

... gotta try the garlic fried rice. Unfortunately, not that tasty. The salt was not even, some piece of the rice was extra salty.


... I almost forgotten that I can't consume beans. So I had only 1 mouthful of this teppanyaki beansprouts.

... I almost forgotten that I can't consume beans. So I had only 1 mouthful of this teppanyaki beansprouts.


... MSF's Kaisen Kamameshi, which she wanted the Chicken Kamameshi at first.

... MSF's Kaisen Kamameshi, which she wanted the Chicken Kamameshi at first.


... the content of the Kaisen Kamameshi. It's seafood.

... the content of the Kaisen Kamameshi. It's seafood.

Rating: 6/10

The dinner was pretty good, despite I wasn’t having any meat, or close to meatless. I could take this opportunity to try those drink and dishes that I usually wouldn’t order, such as the Mogu Mogu Grape, Kakiage, Egg Mayo Inari, Potato Salad and Yasai Tempura.

The Mogu Mogu Grape tasted pretty good. Them small bottle was nicely fit into the cup including the ice. Unfortunately, they should have given a fatter straw because there were pieces of Nata de Coco inside the drink, making all the sucking a tough job. In the end, I had to take off all the ice cubes and drink the rest off the cup.

The Kakiage was pretty good with the teriyaki sauce. We ordered 3 of it because KUMA can’t have enough of it, while I alone hid 1 plate away from the rest. Hey, I’m on strict diet after all, so I’m eligible to do that. The miso soup was nice, though a bit too salty, but better than tasteless.

The rest were acceptable because I made a good wasabi, salty and sweet soya sauce mix. The only complain I had was that the egg mayo inari was quite cheating. I would expect both pieces of sushi having the same content, but instead, only the front piece has the egg mayo. While the 2nd piece, which was hidden behind has only the rice, wrapped in the sweet tofu skin. CHEAT! Anyway, I had 2 dishes of it because I wanted to taste my wasabi mix.

Meanwhile, MSF’s Kaisen Kamameshi was pretty nice, though it was quite costly at RM17.90 each. Fortunately, I wasn’t tempted at all by their orders because KUMA had the Beef Tamago Toji while WWS had Unagi Tamago Toji. EL was there to be DBKL, sapu (sweep) all the leftovers we have for him.

Location: N3 04.928 E101 35.165

Comments
  1. stand4sushi says:

    I know everyone has their own preference but I feel compelled to tell you that mixing the wasabi in with the soy sauce is hindering the clean, simple flavors of the sushi! (though I suppose if you’re not eating nigiri sushi perhaps this does not apply).

    • W says:

      I’m sorry that my choice of taste is offensive to you, but I do like the taste of the sushi’s rice mixing with the wasabi mix that I made. As for nigiri sushi, don’t you think the rice sorta steal away the taste from the fish?

Leave a Reply

