Pasta de Gohan, Sunway Pyramid

Posted: 2009-04-29 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Drink, Eat, GPS, Halal, Japanese, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-vegetarian, Promotion
Tags: , , , ,

Today, the ladies said gotta go somewhere nice to celebrate NAP’s farewell. At first I suggested either Dragon-i or Canton-i, but NAP (no, he has got nothing to do with slumber) just had them like a couple of days ago straight. When we were on the way there, TSL suddenly thought of the Pasta de Gohan’s clam soup pasta she saw in a food magazine in my car. Then we decided to give Pasts de Gohan a try.

... Pasta de Gohan, if I'm not mistaken, it means pasta and rice.

... Pasta de Gohan, if I'm not mistaken, it means pasta and rice.


... this scallop & prawn pizza was my idea. Abundance of cheese.

... this scallop & prawn pizza was my idea. Abundance of cheese.


... this complimentary soup was for TSL's clam soup pasta.

... this complimentary soup was for TSL's clam soup pasta.


... delicious looking clam soup pasta.

... delicious looking clam soup pasta.


... NAP's Prawn Pilaf.

... NAP's Prawn Pilaf.


... NAP's Wafu Chicken & Mushroom. Very oily stuff, another lip gloss incident.

... NAP's Wafu Chicken & Mushroom. Very oily stuff, another lip gloss incident.


... KUMA's Potato Salad Toast.

... KUMA's Potato Salad Toast.


... KUMA's Potato & Bacon Cream fettucine.

... KUMA's Potato & Bacon Cream fettucine.


... a good thirst quencher?

... a good thirst quencher?


... decided to give the curry chicken rice a try.

... decided to give the curry chicken rice a try.


... my Wafu Al Aglio Olio. I still can't figure out what does "wafu" means, even after the meal.

... my Wafu Al Aglio Olio. I still can't figure out what does "wafu" means, even after the meal.


... my aglio olio with extra ingredients.

... my aglio olio with extra ingredients.


... someone left this Neapolitan spaghetti on my side of the table.

... someone left this Neapolitan spaghetti on my side of the table.

Rating: 6/10

I start off with the clam and prawn pizza. It was pretty nice actually with super thin crust with good fragrance from the cheese. The prawns was fresh and crunchy while the scallops were big. I could eat it plainly with only cheese on top of it. But this piece of UFO cost RM28.80.

I had a sipped of TSL’s clam soup pasta, it was quite nice, a little bit of sweetness of the clams. It’s kinda special too, one of its kind. The last time I tried vongole spaghetti was more than 6 months ago. That vongole spaghetti was very different from this 1 though. This also came with a complimentary soup, which tasted a little like miso soup with plenty of seaweed in it. But for RM24.80 for plain spaghetti and clams, that’s very expensive.

Then I had a bite on NAP’s Wafu Chicken & Mushroom. It was pretty ok, just a tad too oily. I wondered whether those was from the olive oil or some other stuff. It sorta made me feel a bit full though. Never had a chance to try his prawn pilaf though, cause it was like chaos there, for 7 people to sit in a long table having plates flying here and there where hygiene was placed at lowest priority.

Then there’s KUMA’s potato salad toast, which looked really nice and her Potato & Bacon cream. Unfortunately, those bacons weren’t pork, they were beef. So I didn’t bother to give it a try. Suddenly, I missed my Popai the Potato so much.

Finally, on the stuff that I ordered. The RM4.80 canned ginger ale was very costly. The lunch set chicken curry rice with wafu al aglio olio cost me RM18.80. It sounded a lot cheaper than TSL’s clam soup spaghetti. I guess reason being this is the kind of items that rarely interest the patrons, so they decided to put them up for promotion. Fortunately, despite being a plain spaghetti, the taste was still acceptable. But it tasted much better after I put in extra chili powder and grind the pepper in. The curry was sweet as expected, nothing to shout about. The rice used was genuine Japanese rice that I had from ordering curry chicken rice from Japanese restaurant. So, no lacking of ingredients here.

The rest of the stuff I didn’t bother to snap because our table has no more space to sort stuff around. But I was given a plate of Neopolitan to try. It was… not that good. That’s why I never like ordering spaghetti in tomato sauce.

The bill for the lunch cost us RM230.10 for 7 pax. Averaging at around RM33 per pax. Overall, lunch was pretty nice, but the pricing was crazy. The food weren’t exactly Japanese except for a few items as pasta is western while most of the stuff on their menu was consists of pasta. There were many other stuff on the menu as well, such as parfait. It’s another place which is common like PHOP, where you’d need months to try out everything on the menu.

The place was not exactly comfortable and the lighting was pretty bad too. The shop was quite small and the air conditioning was bad. TSL was practically sweating throughout the time, for a person that rarely sweat even if we eat under hot roof. Go figure…

Location: N3 04.318 E101 36.367

Leave a Reply

