BnY Restaurant, SS18

Posted: 2009-04-28 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Dinner, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , ,

Went for dinner with TSL and WWS. TSL can’t decide on what to eat when I showed her a blog categorized with Subang & Sunway eateries. In the end, I decided to crash into SS18 area and see for ourself what to eat. If we can’t find anything there, then it will be TJ Haus.

Fortunately, TSL spotted the Shanghai food. So without further ado, I parked my car nearest to the restaurant. It was just a few shops away from TJ Haus itself. I wonder do they serve Shanghai dumpling (上海小籠包)?

The lady boss that took our order, her Mandarin dialect was different. I supposed she’s from Shanghai, being that it’s Shanghai home cooked food. I couldn’t tell if it’s really genuine Shanghai style but all I could do was imagined that I was at Shanghai having some home cooked food because the ugly truth is, I’ve never been to Shanghai.

... the restaurant's name was so small, all I noticed was the word "Shanghai".

... the restaurant's name was so small, all I noticed was the word "Shanghai".


... I chose this 香辣豆腐 over the usual 麻辣豆腐 (malat beancurd) to try out the differences.

... I chose this 香辣豆腐 over the usual 麻辣豆腐 (malat beancurd) to try out the differences.


... plain stir fried siu pak choi.

... plain stir fried siu pak choi.


... this spicy sour soup (酸辣湯) was a decision made based on coin flip, between this and stir fried nian gao (Chinese cake).

... this spicy sour soup (酸辣湯) was a decision made based on coin flip, between this and stir fried nian gao (Chinese cake).


... this golden phoenix fish (金鳳魚) in sour spicy sauce was recommended by the lady boss.

... this golden phoenix fish (金鳳魚) in sour spicy sauce was recommended by the lady boss.


... the boss asked if I was a journalist before giving this card to me.

... the boss asked if I was a journalist before giving this card to me.


... get a stamp for every RM45 and above. Collect 8 stamps and receive a free seafood dish valued RM30 or above.

... get a stamp for every RM45 and above. Collect 8 stamps and receive a free seafood dish valued RM30 or above.

Rating: 6.4/10

Our dinner tonight was full of spicy stuff. I hope WWS didn’t have to have war with her WC after the dinner. Fortunately, Shanghainese’s spiciness ain’t anywhere near what I couldn’t withstand, so I guess it’s fine for her. The spicy beancurd was served in a clay pot. I was glad the portion was moderately enough for the 3 of us, not too much. It as a little sour but I couldn’t recall if I ever felt spicy in it. I guess I should have opted for malat beancurd. Anyway, a lesson learnt today. Then came the vegetable. It tasted rather bland but I guess there’s a very good reason for it. You’ll find out later.

Halfway through, TSL tossed coin to decide on adding on spicy soup or stir fry nian gao. The coin says spicy soup. While I was eagerly anticipating for the fish after ordering the spicy soup, the soup came first. I was shocked at the size of it. It could easily fit 10 people. The soup looked very much like beancurd soup (豆腐羹), except it’s spicy. The soup was quite diluted and pretty tasteless except sourness. We were offered vinegar for those that prefer more sour than it is.

Finally, when the fish came, it was soaking sauce. After a couple of pretty bland tasting dishes, I was expecting too much of the fish. I guess I was a little disappointed on the sauce. The fried fish itself was quite tasty actually but it should have been fried a little longer so that the crispiness stays longer before getting soggy. Finally, I’ve had 3 bowl full of the soup, while TSL had 2.5 bowl and WWS chickened out, she had only 2 bowl full. I’ve estimated the leftovers and it does really serves up to 10 pax or bowls.

I keep asking them to order what they wanted to eat because I intend to claim the bills until I suddenly thought of what if the place doesn’t accept credit cards? Then I notice the flyer holder has American Express printed on it. It lessen my worries until TSL assured me that she has the money to pay. Fortunately, the place does accept cards. Then later we were presented with the promo card by the boss himself. He was asking if I was a journalist. He should have treated me the dinner then I would’ve told him what he wanted to hear.

I might come again to try out other because the price was quite reasonable. The fish for RM25, spicy beancurd for RM12, vege for RM9, pretty standard price, though it could hardly beat Canton Fare‘s. RM10 for that soup, averaging RM1 per pax if it serves 10 pax. The rice were RM3.90 for 3 pax and Chinese tea was a measly RM3.50. No wonder the tea was so tasteless too.

I still can’t make out what does BnY mean.

Location: N3 04.364 E101 35.087

Finally, the reason behind all the bland tasting dishes…

... tastes good? Not really. Healthy? Hell yeah!

... tastes good? Not really. Healthy? Hell yeah!

The tea was pretty bland throughout the course of dinner. I never expect their NO MSG applies to tea as well.

Comments
  1. Damien says:

    Rm 9 no MSG
    i think CF better lah …with MSG, dried prawns and belacan ..WHOAHAHA

Leave a Reply

