Restoran Canton Fare, Solaris Mont Kiara

Posted: 2009-04-26 by W in 7.0 - 7.9, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My ex-colleague, HGY, showed me this place the night before. She said the place has very very very nice fried siew yuk (roasted pork), and some other varieties too. Later, I showed it to DL and asked if he’s been there. Since he stayed nearby, I thought he would’ve know the place quite well.

Turns out he hasn’t heard of the place. So we decided to gate crash the place and hopefully get some good tasting Chinese style stir fry food. My first and last fried siew yuk was a couple of years back in Taman Tun, which was recommended by KC. It was really nice too, served with wanton noodle. The meat was basically coated in sauce like those on BBQ pork.

Anyway, when were were there, the place was closed. I guess it opens for the industrial workers whom work around that area. Then DL recommended Canton Fare as contingency plan, in case the place not opened. He said he saw the place the week before and been wanting to try it out. Hence we headed straight to Solaris Mont Kiara. It was my first time here as well. Been hearing about it since the spawn of Tenji, yet I haven’t the initiative to go check it out. I wonder how it fares against Canton-i.

... hidden inside Solaris Mont Kiara. That's DL for showing his satisfaction for finally finding the place.

... hidden inside Solaris Mont Kiara. That's DL for showing his satisfaction for finally finding the place.


... red theme, just like how Dragon-i looked like. I thought this was probably related to Canton-i.

... red theme, just like how Dragon-i looked like. I thought this was probably related to Canton-i.


... the place wasn't really that big as can be seen. I believe there was a staircase somewhere.

... the place wasn't really that big as can be seen. I believe there was a staircase somewhere.


... nice menu wrapped in cushioned canvas.

... nice menu wrapped in cushioned canvas.


... boost with self confidence, it said "King of Roast". Move aside, Kenny Rogers.

... boost with self confidence, it said "King of Roast". Move aside, Kenny Rogers.


... why are English wines being served here?

... why are English wines being served here?


... this was served after we've placed our order. I guess it's probably pickled papaya.

... this was served after we've placed our order. I guess it's probably pickled papaya.


... longan with snow fungus tong sui. I was given a choice of longan with Chinese herb roots (羊參鬚) or longan with snow fungus. I'm a sucker for snow fungus!

... longan with snow fungus tong sui. I was given a choice of longan with Chinese herb roots (羊參鬚) or longan with snow fungus. I'm a sucker for snow fungus!


... we were given the choice of white rice or flavoured rice. Of course we picked flavoured rice. I've been having white rice my whole life!

... we were given the choice of white rice or flavoured rice. Of course we picked flavoured rice. I've been having white rice my whole life!


... glimmering BBQ pork found sleeping with roasted duck. Naughty, naughty!

... glimmering BBQ pork found sleeping with roasted duck. Naughty, naughty!


... BBQ pork on the left and roasted duck on the right.

... BBQ pork on the left and roasted duck on the right.


... it was unexpected, DL ordered the belacan style water spinach. I was surprised too.

... it was unexpected, DL ordered the belacan style water spinach. I was surprised too.


... what would a roasted meals be if without roasted pork?

... what would a roasted meals be if without roasted pork?

Rating: 7.9/10

At first, I thought it was probably related to Canton-i in some way. Aside from the similar name, it was different as DL said the dishes offered were different. We were asked what do we wanted to drink even before we make our order. A choice of 2 tong sui and Chinese tea. I picked the longan snow fungus while DL went with hot Chinese tea.

I let DL made the choice while I was busy setting my WB on my camera. He ordered the roasted duck and BBQ pork with a belacan style water spinach to go with our rice. We were offered white rice or flavoured rice. The choice was simple in fact. We were given chili sauce and sweet sour sauce as condiments for the BBQ pork and roasted duck. When my drink was served, I thought it would be in porcelein bowl, but it was in cup and it was cold. Fortunately, it wasn’t all bad. The content was more than the drink itself, which made it worth the RM6+ (incl tax and all). I’ve got no idea what does the wine menu doing in a Chinese restaurant. I thought they only serve Chinese wines.

We were served a plate of pickled papaya while waiting for our food. DL wasn’t too sure if it was papaya. I guess the colour doesn’t look right. Anyway, after soaking in vinegar for so many weeks, I guess oneself wouldn’t be able to distinguish itself from the rest of the pickled papayas or mangoes. As long as it doesn’t taste bad, it goes into my mouth. Pretty sour and crunchy, unfortunately we can’t finish it. I guess they gave quite a lot.

When the BBQ pork and roasted duck was served, the glimmering BBQ pork looked damn tasty. I could hear them calling to me. Though I noticed some fats on it, which kinda put me off. When I picked the 1st piece, which was mainly covered in red sauce with some fats in it, I would want to take back my words about the unappetizing fats. It was crunchy! It was heavenly! The fats weren’t smelly at all. DL can’t stop praising on the BBQ pork, how great it was and stuff. It tasted even better than the Meng Kee I had in Glenmarie. Just that it wasn’t all 1/2 fat 1/2 lean meat. Basically, that piece of heavenly fat BBQ pork melts in my mouth, with its sweetened sauce… *drooling*

On the other hand, the roasted duck was only so-so. Probably the BBQ pork was too good, it made the duck pales in comparison. The herbs taste was not heavy in the duck, a bit too light though. I didn’t realised it was supposed to have herbs in it until I had my 2nd piece. Then I recalled I have had roasted ducks with heavier herbs taste, which I supposed was better. The belacan style water spinach was pretty good. I never thought places like these would cook such nice homey feel kind of belacan style water spinach. I give it a 9/10 and it only cost RM9 per plate. It was not small portion either!

Later, while we were busy indulging ourselves, we were being pestered on any last order because they were closing the kitchen. They did this 3 times. I asked DL if he has ordered any roasted pork, he said “no” because I’ve just had roasted pork yesterday. Hence I asked him to get a roasted pork. What would it made us for leaving the place without trying out the King of Roast’s roasted pork? Yes, it made us the soggy pigs.

Anyway, the roasted pork was served within minutes after the weird condiments, mustard and sugar. I let DL tastes it first. He was rather disappointing at the roasted pork. Basically, he has already spoiled all the anticipations for me. Skin failed but meat pretty good. So, I could’ve guessed. I’d take the skin from Mooi Mooi‘s roasted pork and fusion it with Canton Fare’s roasted pork meat. It would make a perfect combination. The skin was still crunchy, but it lacked the fragrance I could get from Mooi Mooi’s. Like he said, the meat was nicely seasoned and flavoured though. But it could’ve been better, for something more premium.

We left the place satisfied, with some leftovers though. The lunch was VERY nice. I would’ve rated it higher if the roasted duck and roasted pork weren’t there to spoil the lunch. I could’ve asked for more BBQ pork. To hell with the fats, “Eat First, Die Later,” as Doc always say. I guess the place should change its name to “King of BBQ pork” instead.

Location: N3 10.537 E101 39.554 (estimation)

And the bill? Pretty decent I must say.

... not too expensive. I'd say I might come back again for more.

... not too expensive. I'd say I might come back again for more.

Comments
  1. […] CIKI hungry? 3 Meals of Goodness a lil’ fat monkey Lots of CRaVings Adventure of A Greedypig Meals I had Comments […]

  2. ah gg says:

    fack you canton

Leave a Reply

