Snacks @ OUG

Posted: 2009-04-25 by W in 7.0 - 7.9, Chinese, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Pork Free, Snack, Vegetarian

After our lunch, we head straight to the location, based on AC’s statement, “it’s just nearby Steven’s Corner”. Set my GPS to Steven’s Corner OUG, and there we go. The rusty GPS which seated in my car was pointing me to the wrong place earlier, so I had to rely on my real-GPS.

Without much obstructions, both on the road and the rusty GPS, we managed to reach the place. Luckily, there were some empty parking space which were not too far from the place.

... the auntie said she was too ugly to be on camera. How could a 豆腐西施 be shy to be on camera?

... the auntie said she was too ugly to be on camera. How could a 豆腐西施 be shy to be on camera?


... as usual, my tau fu fah with brown sugar.

... as usual, my tau fu fah with brown sugar.

Rating: 7.5/10

This soya bean stall was just beside our main agenda, the fried nian gao. AC said the tau fu fah was not bad here. Since we were already here and I rarely come about this place, I agreed on having the tau fu fah, with brown sugar. I snapped photos of both stalls first before proceeding. The auntie from the soya bean stall was so shy, she making sure that I couldn’t snap her face, hence she bent extra low just to cut the tau fu fah.

The brown sugar was pretty good and the tau fu fah was very smooth. It was cheap too, only RM0.90 each bowl. I find that the brown sugar was even better than the one I had from pasar malam. When I was finishing, the brown sugar was very sweet at the bottom. I should have mixed them around despite destroying the tau fu fah and drink it like a blended drink. Hate to see those tasty brown sugar goes to waste.

The auntie from the fried food stall asked if we were from afar. I told her we were from PJ, then SJ and from Puchong then all the way here. She laughed and thought we were from outstations. Unfortunately, unlike my friend, I don’t get free food despite my big camera. After we’ve packed our fried nian gaos (Chinese cake) and banana fritters, we tried to find a place to sit down so we could enjoy the food, slowly or rather quickly…

... if you squint hard enough, you might be able to read the pricelist.

... if you squint hard enough, you might be able to read the pricelist.


... just kidding, here's the price list.

... just kidding, here's the price list.


... fried nian gaos and bananas.

... fried nian gaos and bananas.


... fried giant banana. It was 1 of the bigger bananas fritters. Not so common in KV actually.

... fried giant banana. It was 1 of the bigger bananas fritters. Not so common in KV actually.


... the whole reason why I'm sitting here, just to try this.

... the whole reason why I'm sitting here, just to try this.

Rating: 7/10

The banana fritter was pretty good. It was unlike those usual small banana fritters that I get from around my office. I seldom come across this kind, as I rarely go and look for it. But it’s good that I could have banana fritter of this size. It was just right, not too sweet or sour. The nian gao was nice. My only worry about eating fried nian gao was the heat from the molten nian gao paste, which could really kick ass if it touches your tongue. The combination of yam and sweet yellow potato was nice. The portion was good too, not too thick on the yam. All my life, I’ve only had fried nian gao with super thick yam, 2 pieces top and bottom, making the nian gao paste very precious, like a burger’s patty. The fried batter was pretty crispy. Seemed similar but I couldn’t recall when or where I’ve had such batter. If only we weren’t too full from our lunch, I would have wallop 1 of each type from the stall.

Location: N3 04.456 E101 40.329

Leave a Reply

