Holiday Inn, Glenmarie

Posted: 2009-04-23 by W in 1.0 - 1.9, Dinner, Eat, GPS, Halal, Maiden Experience, Non-vegetarian, Western

My company is throwing a celebration dinner for the close to successful SAP project that gone LIVE recently. Our BPOs, Key Users and Project team members were invited to this dinner at Holiday Inn. There weren’t many of us, just about 5 to 6 tables, I believe.

... this soup surprised me. It was so thick that it makes mushroom soup from Pizza Hut felt like plain water.

... this soup surprised me. It was so thick that it makes mushroom soup from Pizza Hut felt like plain water.


... out of these items, I've only managed to get the sausage that KUMA offered me.

... out of these items, I've only managed to get the sausage that KUMA offered me.


... I stole the stuffed squid from LG and a small bit of salmon too.

... I stole the stuffed squid from LG and a small bit of salmon too.


... fruits salad that KUMA took. Ended up I was the one cleaning the plate after she had that white thing on the left.

... fruits salad that KUMA took. Ended up I was the one cleaning the plate after she had that white thing on the left.


... ALGJ got me a plate of mesclun salad. There were 2 stick of similar thing which KUMA took on her fruits salad.

... ALGJ got me a plate of mesclun salad. There were 2 stick of similar thing which KUMA took on her fruits salad.


... these pastries looked nice. The yellow stuff in the center was pudding and cake underneath it.

... these pastries looked nice. The yellow stuff in the center was pudding and cake underneath it.

Rating: 1.5/10

I’m not going to comment on other stuff, only the stuff I had. The seafood soup was quite nice, having fish meat cubes in it. Though there were other cubes which I can’t make them out. The crunchy garlic bread cubes were nice too. The lazy me stole the stuff squid from LG’s plate, at the same time KUMA gave me a piece of her sausages. The squid looked nice or so I thought. Boy, I was so wrong! Firstly, I’ve got no idea what’s those yellow stuff, though it wasn’t too bad. The worst part was the squid itself. It was soft, not the kind of soft that one would wants on a squid. At the tip end of the squid, it was soft, squishy and slimy. If my guess was right, it was barely cooked! I never expected sashimi from this dinner. I almost vomit on the spot, but I just tried very hard to swallow the damn thing. Part of the yellow stuffing fell out onto the sausage. When I eat the yellow stuff itself, it tasted like satay sauce. Hmmm….

Next, I tried my luck on the charity sausage. I can’t make out what sausage was that. I supposed it’s chicken to meet the diet of most people. It almost felt like the sausage was not cooked at all. Straight from the factory kind of feeling. Another yucky stuff that went down my throat. Then I stole a small piece of salmon from LG’s plate to clean my mouth of sinister food.

I’ve lost all my appetite on the earlier encounter. Fortunately, ALGJ offered to get me salad. I nodded like madman because I knew, mayonnaise or thousand island would probably be the best tasting thing in the whole dinner! She got me a mesclun salad, with plenty of mesclun and some thousand island sauce. There were 2 sticks of I-dunno-what-were-they. I could see mesclun was wrapped inside it. When I ate it, it has lemongrass in it. Heavenly! Reason being that I’m a BIG sucker for lemon grass. I could eat just like that, provided they are not those hard or dried types.

After that, KUMA went to take some desserts. There were little mixed fruit tarts with soggy dish. I tried a little on the pudding which tasted like milk with mild sweetness and a little bit like egg tart’s content. However, the cake was pretty good. There was a cup of orange juice for each of us. I had a few sips of it and it was pretty tasteless. So tasteless that it wasn’t even sour at all, which I very much expected it to be. Anyway, I left the cup in 2/3 full condition for good luck*.

I could say that this was probably my shortest ever buffet dinner. I was so demoralized by the lousy food served here that I couldn’t think of having anything more from the counters. I just wanna go home… go back home to office and would rather work myself to death than to endure anymore of these stuff. I guess the only thing good was, the meal was free but we were seated at open aired space, not even air conditioned. Lightings were so poor. To think that our project kick start lunch was bad, this was so much much more worse than that. Big BOO-BOO to Holiday Inn!

Location: N3 05.671 E101 34.676

* I lied about the good luck part. Actually, I don’t take oranges, hence I left the cup close to full. Besides, it sucked too.

PS: I had to give some score here to give face to my bosses for arranging this dinner despite we were on tight money savings plan. Uh, don’t ask me how much does the SAP implementation cost.

Leave a Reply

