Gino’s Recipe, Ara Damansara

Posted: 2009-04-16 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Drink, Eat, GPS, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian, Pork Free, Western
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

PCL saw this place about a week ago when we passed by while heading back to office. She told me it was something-something Recipe but it wasn’t yet another Secret Recipe outlet. I managed to steal a glance and saw the greenish looking signboard. The word Recipe do looks very much like that from Secret Recipe. Probably designed by the same marketing company.

Anyway, we remembered to stop by today for a lunch break here today. There were tables on the outside and inside of the restaurant. Seeing that it was so bloody hot for the past few days, we decided to just sit on the inside, and hopefully the air conditioning was efficient. Upon sitting down, we were given menus by a waiter and soon the chef came and introduced himself to us. Unfortunately, I couldn’t remember his name. But you can get his name from the pizza delivery box, which was printed in very bold font on the top cover, including his personal contact number.

... garlic breads were on the house, courtesy of the chef.

... garlic breads were on the house, courtesy of the chef.


... garlic bread yang hangus.

... garlic bread yang hangus.


... dang, I was surprised when my Earl Grey tea was served. Tea cup from Segafredo Zanetti???

... dang, I was surprised when my Earl Grey tea was served. Tea cup from Segafredo Zanetti???


... the seafood soup was spicy. 1x of mussel, 5x of clams and about 5x of squid rings. The soup tasted like watered down arrabiata sauce.

... the seafood soup was spicy. 1x of mussel, 5x of clams and about 5x of squid rings. The soup tasted like watered down arrabiata sauce.


... I missed out the prawns. They were too small anyway and not exactly fresh.

... I missed out the prawns. They were too small anyway and not exactly fresh.


... PCL made this order immediately to "lock" her ordering, so that she doesn't end up being the DBKL later.

... PCL made this order immediately to "lock" her ordering, so that she doesn't end up being the DBKL later.


... Gino's Special Pizza, recommended by the Chef.

... Gino's Special Pizza, recommended by the Chef.


... I asked for a regular, which cost only RM22. Instead, they got me a large pizza which cost RM30.

... I asked for a regular, which cost only RM22. Instead, they got me a large pizza which cost RM30.

Rating: 5/10

How were the foods fared? Well, for start, it was a good gesture that the garlic breads were given to us for free. Unfortunately, it was very heavy on butter, making the garlic fragrance became very insignificant. I was loosing my appetite when I was chomping down the 2nd piece. I knew I would definitely have 1 more piece to go. Anyway, I only realised the charred part of the garlic bread when I was having my final piece.

When my Earl Grey tea was served, it was served in Segafredo Zanetti’s tea cup. I was surprised that they were even related, because my previous experience with Segafredo wasn’t a pleasant one. When we both saw the tea cup, we said, “very salty aglio olio spaghetti” together and laughed. Yes, that was what Segafredo serves, very salty aglio olio spaghetti.

The soup was recommended by the chef. PCL nodded when I asked her if it’s was ok to have soup. I’ve got no idea how it looks like until it was served. Then there’s this spicy taste from the soup. At the same time, it tasted like diluted sauce used for making pasta. Fortunately, the aglio olio spaghetti was the best item of them all. Perfectly balanced taste and it was spicy too.

Lastly, our delicious pizza. When I told the waiter that I’d want the Gino’s special pizza. His first response was, “Large, sir?” I was rather disappointed by his response. Did he saw a 3rd or 4th person on our table? How could 2 persons, where 1 of them was just a little girl, finish all the food that we’ve ordered, let alone having another LARGE pizza? I guess they were desperate for business because it was quite empty the time we reached there.

And lastly, the place doesn’t accept credit card. So I had to pay my RM60+ bill with CASH. *sweat*

Location: N3 07.042 E101 34.739

Leave a Reply

