Senjyu Sushi, Sunway Pyramid

Posted: 2009-04-14 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Eat, Japanese, Lunch, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian, Pork Free

Unsure of what to eat today, I promptly suggested to go to Sunway Pyramid today, with TSL. WWS tagged along as well since she was OK with being late back to office after lunch. Upon reaching Sunway Pyramid, we picked a few places for lunch. Basically crossed out Dragon-i and Canton-i. Almost went for Shogun, but buffet doesn’t sound like a good idea. Then when I saw Senjyu Sushi on the directory, I suggested it to them, since they never tried it before. But I did warn them about the steep pricing they might face, depending on what’s being ordered.

... this is an appetizing shot, I hope.

... this is an appetizing shot, I hope.


... fresh from the kitchen, rather than being served from the kaiten belt, like the 1 in Sushi Tei.

... fresh from the kitchen, rather than being served from the kaiten belt, like the 1 in Sushi Tei.


... I like cod fish, so I ordered this, despite the salmon being the dominant here.

... I like cod fish, so I ordered this, despite the salmon being the dominant here.


... promotion item of the day, RM2 only. It has unagi bits on top, yes!

... promotion item of the day, RM2 only. It has unagi bits on top, yes!


... dunno what maki was this, either WWS ordered it.

... dunno what maki was this, either WWS ordered it.


... I guess this is called orange maki, because it looked like an orange cross section.

... I guess this is called orange maki, because it looked like an orange cross section.


... idako sushi, TSL's favourite.

... idako sushi, TSL's favourite.


... this was like the best miso soup I've ever had. Only RM6+ with all the ingredients in it, rather than just powder with hot water.

... this was like the best miso soup I've ever had. Only RM6+ with all the ingredients in it, rather than just powder with hot water.


... more like fried squids with long tentacles. Pretty good actually, served with mayonnaise.

... more like fried squids with long tentacles. Pretty good actually, served with mayonnaise.


... this was very appetizing from the photo, but when it was served, it seemed dry. Where's the glimmering sauce?

... this was very appetizing from the photo, but when it was served, it seemed dry. Where's the glimmering sauce?

Rating: 6/10

I started off with a good wasabi + salted & sweetened soy sauce mix. Then everything just went smoothly from there on. I had a good share of unagi sushi and the promo item got my attention because it has unagi bits on top of it. The salmon with cod fish sauce was milky, much like Salmon Mentai, just named different this time. The fried squid was rather cheap at around RM5+ but it was very very very oily. The quarter bowl was practically soaked in frying oil. How I wished it was olive oil. My jaw was tired after chewing 2 pieces of it. The cod fish was disappointing though. Not as expensive as the one I’ve had in Kinpachi, but it also doesn’t taste as good as the 1 from Kinpachi as well.

Location: N3 04.382 E101 36.467

Leave a Reply

