K3K Benta Kaya, SS15

Posted: 2009-03-27 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Halal, Lunch, Non-vegetarian
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve always wanted to bring PCL here to try out the benta kaya since my previous visit. I’ve even asked her if she likes to eat benta kaya and she said yes. Today, I finally remembered to bring her here as I’ve forgotten to for the past few weeks.

... tray cake (kuih talam) was being offered when we were just seated down.

... tray cake (kuih talam) was being offered when we were just seated down.


... I'm a sucker for these. I always wanted to have them whenever I see them.

... I'm a sucker for these. I always wanted to have them whenever I see them.


Even before we were given the menu, we were offered some cakes (kuih) on a tray. I thought they were so kind to let people from outside to come in and sell cakes. Later only I found out that these items were actually listed on the menu. Just that they were already nicely packed and ready to be taken away. Me being a sucker for muachi, I just couldn’t resist getting it. Usually I’d go and get it, but this time it was offered right smack on my face, so …

... syrup with sago in it and some black jelly.

... syrup with sago in it and some black jelly.


... ... homemade dumplings with benta kaya and gula melaka.

... ... homemade dumplings with benta kaya and gula melaka.


... homemade dumpling soaked in gula melaka.

... homemade dumpling soaked in gula melaka.


... the fruit rojak got my attention. PCL agreed on ordering it as well, since we were not having any main course.

... the fruit rojak got my attention. PCL agreed on ordering it as well, since we were not having any main course.


... the last piece of the rojak which PCL abandoned.

... the last piece of the rojak which PCL abandoned.

Rating: 6/10

The tray cake actually tasted not bad. But it could be better. I’ve had worse from somewhere else at a random location sold by random people. At least you can come back here for more if you like it. The muachi was acceptable only. Skin a little too thick. I preferred thinner skin where the crushed sugar peanuts would explodes in your mouth. Besides, the white flour used doesn’t chill my lips and mouth when I eat it. Something is missing from it.

My special drink was indeed really special. I thought it was similar to what I had at 1 Utama last time. The things that are similar were the red coloured liquid and the sago. This cup of drink, it reminded me of having 湯圓 during Winter Solstice. Yes, it tasted like ginger drinks. Did they think that I’d want ginger drink because I bought muachi?

The little homemade dumpling were within PCL’s expectation. She preferred the benta kaya, while what I had in my hometown, it was served with brown sugar. Hence the request for brown sugar. The rojak was pretty good. PCL was practically digging for more fried Chinese crullers in it. But the crunchy stuffs which I thought were Chinese crullers have hints of prawn crackers. So I wasn’t too sure what it was because the size was not like ordinary prawn crackers you’d get from rojak.

Location: N3 04.461 E101 35.191

Leave a Reply

