Pappadam

Posted: 2009-03-07 by W in 7.0 - 7.9, Eat, Halal, Indian, Maiden Experience, Snack, Vegetarian

I couldn’t stress enough on how much I like to eat pappadam (only good ones). I don’t know what’s the reason behind it but I just never get bored eating them. It must be has contained cocaine in it. Though I really hated those square types. So I will only eat those round types. Though different nasi kandar place serves different taste of pappadam, but I do try to stick with those places that serves round type pappadam so that I could take the opportunity to fulfill my cravings.

I’ve always wanted to buy pappadam and bring it back hometown to fry, because it’s inconvenient for me to do it here at the rented apartment. But most of the time, I’ve forgotten to do it buy them. In fact, this time was the first time I’m buying the pappadam, which I’ve got no idea how it looked like in raw form. So, I was hunting blindly in Carrefour one afternoon. I tooked 2 packs of Carrefour brand pappadam at first. Fortunately, I met my company’s tea lady, Achi there. She showed me where to get other brands. She mentioned that Taj Mahal one is nice. So she showed me the way. Unfortunately, Carrefour only carry Lingam’s brand and their own Carrefour brand. So I only bought 1 of each brand for testing.

The result came out really bad and my parents has had bad impression on my tastebud. They said it was very salty. I tried a few of Lingam’s pappadam, it was indeed very salty. It wasn’t the kind of pappadam that I was expecting. It was darker than the usually light yellowish pappadam. It even has the flour taste in it. While the Carrefour one, I had to get it refunded because it has expired.

Then, 1 find day, while shopping in TF, I managed to find Taj Mahal pappadam. I was overjoyed and danced on top of the trolley. Hence I sapu a lot of them back this time with excuse that I’d like to share them with my fellow colleagues.

... these Taj Mahal pappadam were introduced by my company's tea lady.

... these Taj Mahal pappadam were introduced by my company's tea lady.


... if it's that good, don't mind buying more to try.

... if it's that good, don't mind buying more to try.


... looked just like what I used to have when I have my nasi kandar.

... looked just like what I used to have when I have my nasi kandar.

Rating: 7/10

Yes, it was indeed very good! The taste and fragrance were just right, except it was still very salty. My mum can’t stop nagging on how I shouldn’t eat so much of these because it was so salty but she can’t stop popping them into her mouth while frying them. A show sign that pappadam is irresistible. Her excuse? She’d consume more so that I don’t eat that much. Yeah, right! lol

Just leave them in the tray after frying so that the frying oil would soak into the kitchen wipe. Then your pappadam would ended up drier and taste better. Don’t worry about them getting all soggy for getting exposed in the air for too long. I think you might have a 20-30mins of window after frying. Perhaps avoid frying them when it’s rainy day when the humidity is higher.

I hope I could try out the Carrefour pappadam next time while still stocking up on Taj Mahal’s pappadams!

... is it a profitable business? The few hockey puck sized pappadam have filled up more than 3 medium sized containers. There was another bigger container which was not shown here, filled up to half of it.

... is it a profitable business? The few hockey puck sized pappadam have filled up more than 3 medium sized containers. There was another bigger container which was not shown here, filled up to half of it.

Leave a Reply

