Maggi Kari Letup

Posted: 2009-03-05 by W in 7.0 - 7.9, Drink, Eat, Halal, Indian, Maiden Experience, Non-vegetarian, Supper

I wasn’t hungry at all, though I wished I was. That’s the problem with being back at home. I never get hungry, most of the time. I bought a pack of Maggi Kari Letup instant noodle earlier today. I was so tempted to try it but was still feeling full. Anyway, I couldn’t resist the temptation and proceed with it…

... something new I saw on the shelf. Could be a new packaging over the old curry flavour.

... something new I saw on the shelf. Could be a new packaging over the old curry flavour.


... looked tasty. I've always like Maggi's curry flavour. It tasted nice, though the noodle sucked really bad.

... looked tasty. I've always like Maggi's curry flavour. It tasted nice, though the noodle sucked really bad.


... poured myself a cup of HL low fat milk and chocolate mix. Felt like Dutch Lady.

... poured myself a cup of HL low fat milk and chocolate mix. Felt like Dutch Lady.

Rating: 7/10

You must be wondering, how could an instant noodle get a 7 out of 10. I would’ve rated the original Maggi a 5.5/10. If the soup alone, it would’ve been 6.5/10. But this, the soup remained as good, though not as letupy as I expected. The soup was similar if not exactly the same as the original Maggi Kari.

But, well done to Maggi. They’ve finally nailed it. I’ve always hated the original curry flavour’s noodle. They get soggy too quickly despite cooking them for only 1 minute. This, this newly designed noodle, it doesn’t get soggy too quickly. After it was cooked, it tasted springy. Just like how I liked it. I guess they’ve finally realised that by putting the tomyam flavoured noodle into the curry flavour and repackage them, they could sell it at a higher price. Yes, eat pack cost around RM4.50+. Original curry flavour probably going for around RM3.80 only.

With this, I’d stick with it and probably stock up on my instant noodle. The curry is good because it’s mild on the spicy scale. I can’t be eating the tomyam all the time and not getting afterburner on my rear, can I?

Leave a Reply

