Restoran Yi Poh, Seremban

Posted: 2009-01-02 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Breakfast, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian

The 3 of us, KC, DL and me were going to Malacca for some photo shooting. It was KC’s idea because he was so enthusiastic about his new camera. I agreed to it providing that they allow me to hunt for the cendol that I wanted. So it was a go. While on the way there, we are going to pass by Seremban, so I suggested that we would have the infamous silver needle noodle (老鼠粉).

... the infamous Restoran Yi Poh. I was a bit late, but better than never.

... the infamous Restoran Yi Poh. I was a bit late, but better than never.


... DL told me that their chili condiment was good and very spicy.

... DL told me that their chili condiment was good and very spicy.


... I was very thirsty and suddenly wanted to drink kopi-o.

... I was very thirsty and suddenly wanted to drink kopi-o.


... my bowl of silver needle noodle (老鼠粉).

... my bowl of silver needle noodle (老鼠粉).


... after mixing them along with the condiment.

... after mixing them along with the condiment.


... I found out about the soup as well from some blog, so I decided to give it a try. Luckily, KC wanted the guts, so I could concentrate on the soup only.

... I found out about the soup as well from some blog, so I decided to give it a try. Luckily, KC wanted the guts, so I could concentrate on the soup only.


... I asked DL if the wanton (云吞) here nice, he said so. But I was expected non-fried wanton though.

... I asked DL if the wanton (云吞) here nice, he said so. But I was expected non-fried wanton though.


... trust me, those veges were there for show only, what really matters were those gold matter.

... trust me, those veges were there for show only, what really matters were those gold matter.


... this soup, after mixing with the chili paste and lots of pepper, it tasted like that from my hometown. I called it the hometown-feel soup.

... this soup, after mixing with the chili paste and lots of pepper, it tasted like that from my hometown. I called it the hometown-feel soup.


... it's a waste, but I can't take too much. Someone is cursing me already.

... it's a waste, but I can't take too much. Someone is cursing me already.

Rating: 6.5/10

No wonder DL asked for a non BBQ pork bowl of noodle because it sucked. The fried pork lards were nice but a tad too soft. Though when eating together with the noodle, the fragrance or taste of the pork lard doesn’t surface as much as it should. So perhaps you’d want 3 piece of it in 1 spoonful of noodle. The chili condiment was sweet, not exactly my kind of chili, but it was really spicy, no doubts about it. Fried wanton was quite nice. The best would be the pepper soup. I wasn’t a big fan of pepper soup, but I was told by DL that the complimentary soup that comes along with the noodle was of the same pepper soup with pork guts. I mixed in the chili paste and lots of lots of pepper (I overshot actually) in it. The taste came out just like the soup from my favourite noodle stall back in my hometown. I keep telling DL that the soup tasted like my hometown. I called it hometown-feel soup. He kept laughing like a Joker. My cup of kopi-o was really nice, sweet enough. The only thing lacking was Chinese crullers. I’m always looking for Chinese crullers when there’s kopi-o for me. Unfortunately, 2nd cup of kopi-o was less sweet though.

Location: N2 44.044 E101 56.421

Comments
  1. Kelly Ho says:

    I tried before. I would give 8 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

