Malacca Cendol Hunt

Posted: 2009-01-02 by W in Drink, Eat, GPS, Maiden Experience, Malay, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian, Snack, Tea Break, Vegetarian

Finally, we’ve reached Malacca after our breakfast. The cendol hunt doesn’t start immediately. I gotta wait for the 2 to satisfied with their photo shoot first.

... Nancy's Kitchen's cendol. Recommended by HL.

... Nancy's Kitchen's cendol. Recommended by HL.


... flipping the content for a better look.

... flipping the content for a better look.


... HL asked me to try their nyonya popia.

... HL asked me to try their nyonya popia.


... I was surprised that nyonya take pork. Perhaps I just didn't know better.

... I was surprised that nyonya take pork. Perhaps I just didn't know better.


... take a closer look, can you spot the pork lards?

... take a closer look, can you spot the pork lards?

Rating: 6.5/10

I SMSed HL a couple of times to ask him for the coordinates to the place to good cendol he recommended me. He didn’t reply, sucker him. I finally had to call him when I was standing in front of Nancy’s Kitchen (founded it all by my OWN) to reconfirm with him. He then recommended me the scary popia which almost made the 3 of us fell off the chair. We ordered 2 sticks of it and we left like 1/2 of it because it was bad. It has fried pork lards in it, which was totally unexpected and the chili from Hainanese chicken rice was used in it. The cendol on the other hand was really nice. The good fragrance from the brown sugar, though I hope they’d give me more. Rating was only for the cendol as the popia would be only a 2.5/10. 0.5 point for the effort of fried pork lards.

Location: N2.19647 E102.24611

After Nancy’s Kitchen, we head toward Donald & Lily’s. We took some shots while on the way there.

... Donald & Lily's cendol.

... Donald & Lily's cendol.

A guy with Nikon D90 was seated on the next table, with the standard kit lens and a Manfrotto tripod. But that wasn’t my point. Let’s get back to the cendol. KC followed me and had a bowl of cendol as well, but this time, he didn’t finish it. Reason being that, the cup of cendol was salted. At first I thought it was the coconut milk. But upon tasting it carefully, it was the brown sugar that was salty too. I was rather disappointing. DL told me that the previous time, the team had the cendol here without the coconut milk. Was it nice? He can’t answer as he doesn’t take cendol. Oh well…

Rating: 3/10

Location: N2.19496 E102.24716

Finally, we stop by Ole Sayang for last round of cendol after all the photo shooting for the day. My most anticipated place for cendol after having the super nice cendol 3 years ago.

... finally, Ole Sayang's cendol.

... finally, Ole Sayang's cendol.


... it's been almost 3 years since I last had it.

... it's been almost 3 years since I last had it.


... to clear my throat of any salted brown sugar.

... to clear my throat of any salted brown sugar.

Rating: 4/10

Despite all the anticipations, it turns out sour. Not literally sour but the cendol was similar to Donald & Lily’s, it’s salty. I was very disappointed at it. Did they put drug in it the last time because there were a lot of us coming for their food? Anyway, I clear my throat with a cup of cold grass jelly before departing to Muara Sg Duyong for dinner.

Location: N2.18763 E102.25574

Leave a Reply

