Jogoya, Starhill Gallery

Posted: 2008-12-10 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Eat, GPS, Japanese, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian

Today we had lunch at Jogoya, spent by our vendor. There were around 26 of us stuck in a rather small room. Following food were those that the few of us had on our table.

... nice looking wasabi. You have to do that yourself though or perhaps they should hire me.

... nice looking wasabi. You have to do that yourself though or perhaps they should hire me.


... plenty of unagi sushi, but they were cold.

... plenty of unagi sushi, but they were cold.


... snail, squid mix with sweet sauce, lotus root and some seaweed.

... snail, squid mix with sweet sauce, lotus root and some seaweed.


... variety of clams with sweet sauce.

... variety of clams with sweet sauce.


... chicken and mussels satays.

... chicken and mussels satays.


... see for yourself, too lazy to name them.

... see for yourself, too lazy to name them.


... abalone and squids fried with salted egg. Those squids were awesome.

... abalone and squids fried with salted egg. Those squids were awesome.


... tempura prawns.

... tempura prawns.


... vegetarian plate, variety of mushrooms and brocolli. Sad to say, this plate was 1 of the best stuff there.

... vegetarian plate, variety of mushrooms and brocolli. Sad to say, this plate was 1 of the best stuff there.


Mango, Rum & Raisins, Mango Sorbet, Chocolate.

... 4 flavours that I would eat. Clockwise: Mango, Rum & Raisins, Mango Sorbet, Chocolate.


... I've always wished there was century egg whenever I see pickle gingers in Japanese restaurant. Now the wish finally came through. The chicken egg with runny yolk was really yucky. I almost vomit when I swallow it. Even think of it also made me felt vomitous. The egg was cold.

... I've always wished there was century egg whenever I see pickle gingers in Japanese restaurant. Now the wish finally came through. The chicken egg with runny yolk was really yucky. I almost vomit when I swallow it. Even think of it also made me felt vomitous. The egg was cold.


... pillow with coconut flake.

... pillow with coconut flake.


... look at the inside, the coconut flake was sweetened. Can't finish it because I had the stupid runny egg yolk. *yuck*

... look at the inside, the coconut flake was sweetened. Can't finish it because I had the stupid runny egg yolk. *yuck*


... these were freshly grilled unagi. x10000 better than those unagi sushi's unagi. It's fresh and hot!

... these were freshly grilled unagi. x10000 better than those unagi sushi's unagi. It's fresh and hot!


... grilled big prawns.

... grilled big prawns.


... my colleague's prawn, came with plenty of roe. I should've taken this one.

... my colleague's prawn, came with plenty of roe. I should've taken this one.


... prawn with eggs in it. This is the first time I see such thing.

... prawn with eggs in it. This is the first time I see such thing.


... really a lot a lot of eggs. Don't really taste good, but they smell good though.

... really a lot a lot of eggs. Don't really taste good, but they smell good though.


... a closer look on the eggs.

... a closer look on the eggs.


... big prawn with its eggs in the head.

... big prawn with its eggs in the head.

Rating: 6/10

Despite all the hoo-haas about Jogoya, I don’t really like the food there. Most of the pre-made food were not fresh or too cold. The only good stuff are those freshly cooked ones, such as the grilled unagi and the grilled prawns. But having freshly cooked food meaning that you’d have to wait. Each pax is given a clip to place order. The wait was acceptable. DC was abusing the grilled unagi by placing 6 or more clips (the other clips were borrowed from another table in our room) at one go. We were fortunate that this way reduced the waiting time. The big prawns were premium stuff. I overheard that priority is given to the Jogoya membership club card holders.

As for the Haagen-Dazs ice-cream, they lacked my favourite Macadamia Nuts. It was really a turn off. I guess the ice-cream must be too popular, hence they decided to take it off their fridge. The leftover ice-cream were unappetizing because they’ve melted and frozen again. We were only allowed to take the ice-cream with the small saucer prepared by the counter. DC went to take a bigger bowl, but he was scolded by the lady in charge of the dessert bar and his bowl was confiscated. Such rude attitude and bad service from the staff.

Location: N3 08.863 E101 42.814

Leave a Reply

