Aladdin Restaurant, Kelana Jaya

Posted: 2008-11-19 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Chinese, Drink, Eat, GPS, Halal, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-vegetarian

My friend asked me out for lunch today since he’ll be around in PJ area. Since I have much flexibility during lunch, I suggested Aladdin Restaurant, which I’ve been wanting to swallow it up long ago. It’s even close by to the place he is going after lunch as well.

... it's a certified halal place with chinese style food.

... it's a certified halal place with chinese style food.

... I was so thirsty that I tried something different that my usual order.

... I was so thirsty that I tried something different that my usual order.

... my friend ordered a cup of orange juice.

... my friend ordered a cup of orange juice.

... close up of the drink. They could have put a little more work on slicing those grass jelly.

... close up of the drink. They could have put a little more work on slicing those grass jelly.

... I'm a sucker for sour and spicy stuff, such as this ma po beancurd.

... I'm a sucker for sour and spicy stuff, such as this ma po beancurd.

... choi sum? I can't remember.

... choi sum? I can't remember.

... my friend can't stop drooling after he noticed this item on the menu.

... my friend can't stop drooling after he noticed this item on the menu.

... those prawns were stuff into a half honey dew. I saw this recommended dish from online websites.

... those prawns were stuff into a half honey dew. I saw this recommended dish from online websites.

... 4 dishes for the 2 of us.

... 4 dishes for the 2 of us.

... eat first; die later.

... eat first; die later.

... close up on the fried mussel with soya beans.

... close up on the fried mussel with soya beans.

... these prawns were goooood.

... these prawns were goooood.

Rating: 6/10

The food were acceptable aside from being Halal. But what irks me was that we were not allowed to take photos of the food, yet there isn’t any sign of “no camera” or “no photographing” displayed on the shop. The excuse was, we were allowed to take photographs of the interior, but NOT the food. Upon asking the lady in charge, she couldn’t give us a sensible reason as to why the food were not allowed to be photographed. It was somewhere along the line of recipe theft. I would’ve hang myself with my camera’s strap if the ceiling fan was strong enough to sustain my weight. Anyway, we keep on photographing the food because they were all served. So, we won’t be getting “extras”.

Back to the food, the beancurd was a little sweet. I was expecting something sour and salty and of course spicy as well. Fried mussels were how they are supposed to be. Fortunately, they weren’t too cooked. The vege was quite nice and finally the prawns which was introduced on some food hunting website were indeed quite nice.

Location: N3.10188 E101.60002

Leave a Reply

