Izzi Pizza, Pasta & Coffee, Damansara Uptown

Posted: 2008-11-12 by W in 5.0 - 5.9, Chinese, Dinner, Drink, Eat, GPS, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian, Pork Free, Promotion, Western

The last time I visited Izzi Pizza, I left with dissatisfaction due to the noisy environment and the mediocre food. I never thought I’d visit the place again until DC found out that there were great discounts for most items on the menu from their website. We wanted to eat the chicken wings which was RM15.80 per plate. I guess it has 4 to 5 pieces per plate, but the price is really steep if without the 65% discount.

Unfortunately, upon looking at the menu then only we realised that the discount for the chicken wings was only available for Citibank credit card customers. Thus we were left with another set of menu with limited number of items which were given 70% discount with a minimum of RM75 of order at pre-discounted price.

... bottomless iced lemon tea, but for a price. It's RM8.90++ each. Giler!

... bottomless iced lemon tea, but for a price. It's RM8.90++ each. Giler!

... this wasn't a bad dish, unfortunately the chicken wasn't enough for 4 of us.

... this wasn't a bad dish, unfortunately the chicken wasn't enough for 4 of us.

... instead of just calling it prawn aglio olio, Izzi decided to give it a lengthy name.

... instead of just calling it prawn aglio olio, Izzi decided to give it a lengthy name.

... DC ordered one with chicken. It was super SALTY!

... DC ordered one with chicken. It was super SALTY!

... DC's favourite, a pepperoni pizza.

... DC's favourite, a pepperoni pizza.

... we had to have something which has no beef in it, hence NAP gets his share of pizza from Pollo Tropicale.

... we had to have something which has no beef in it, hence NAP gets his share of pizza from Pollo Tropicale.

Rating: 5/10

Without the crazy discount, the place is not worth a visit at all. Don’t even think of entering it as the ambiance was terrible. The lighting was bad and the place was noisy like a market. I don’t understand why there were so many patrons. I guess they were gullible enough to believe that the 70% discount was totally worth it. Do look again, the price was marked up excessively. For that plate of prawn pasta, the original price was RM24.80. Though, after discount it costs only RM8. It was indeed cheap, but do take note that the portion of that pasta was only half of what other places offered. One word, it’s tiny. It tasted quite alright though, despite it was really dry, being an aglio olio.

As for the sweet & sour chicken, it should have been called SALTY & sour chicken instead, with capital SALTY. I couldn’t emphasize enough on how salty it was for something which is called “Sweet & Sour”. The Cambodian Chicken was quite nice with good fragrance. At first I thought DC haven’t had enough of Cambodian stuff during our last trip to Cambodia, which prompted him to order a Cambodian Chicken dish.

Location: N3.13612 E101.62366

Comments
  1. Alexander Robertson says:

    Actually very surprised by you not so favorable comments as I survived at Izzi in Jkt when I was posted there. The food was great and the price rather cheap. I liked their free wifi and their minimalist decor. I though they had a perfect offering until I came to KL to finish some consulting work for Telkomsel, the Indonesian mobile carrier.
    I found the food at Izzi Bukit Bintang even better than that in Jkt and just tried their every day low price menu–totally gila–prices at Izzi Setiawangsa (Jusco Au2) really realy — its just a shame I have to go back to Jkt and finish my job for Telkomsel on JKT cause I much prefer KL and their Izzi is better than Izzi Jkt— cheers & farewell! Try Izzi Setiawabgsa

  2. W says:

    Hi Alexander,

    Thank you for your comment. I’ve yet to try the Izzi outlet in KL. I saw in their website, the photos showing the environment do indeed looked tempting and has very nice ambient to it. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for the outlet in Damansara Utama (Uptown).

    Perhaps, on your next visit to Malaysia, you might want to risk 1 of your meals and try out the DU outlet? In the meantime, I’ll see if I could arrange a visit to the outlet that you mentioned.

    Bon Apetit.

  3. Alex says:

    Hi W:

    Just saw your blog again. Actually I’m sitting in Izzi’s flagship store in Jkt– its Menteng. The manager told me that Izzi Malaysia just opened a new unit at AU2 Setiawangsa n’ says it;s busy so on my next trip I’l check it out. Till later—cheers Alex

  4. Alex says:

    Hi W:

    Just saw your blog again. Actually I’m sitting in Izzi’s flagship store in Jkt– its Menteng. The manager told me that Izzi Malaysia just opened a new unit at Jusco n’ says it;s busy so on my next trip I’l check it out. Till later—cheers Alex

  5. W says:

    Hi Alex,

    Thanks for stopping by again. Hope you’ll have enough fun time on your next trip here.

Leave a Reply

