Dinner @ Sushi Groove, 1 Utama New Wing

Posted: 2008-08-24 by W in Dinner, Drink, Eat, Halal, Non-vegetarian

I guess there isn’t any premium (more premium than Sushi King) Japanese Restaurant that I frequent as much as I did to Sushi Groove. Despite the hefty price tag, I still like to go there for dining. My previous experience told me that, eating their bentos are gonna kill you. So this time, I told my friend that we are only gonna order sushi items and the most, temakis.


… that sucker, he ordered a beer!


… while I remain true to the Japanese tradition. I had a hot green tea.


… I never knew that Japanese could eat so spicy, as in putting jalapeño in their sushi. I’ve always look up to jalapeño’s reputation on being 1 of the best condiments around. I’ve tried chicken rice with jalapeño. This time, it’s sushi with jalapeño. Trust me, this was good, despite how it looks!



… Fusion Dragon Roll, just by listening to the name, you know you’d turn into the dragon by eating the whole plate. Unfortunately, eating only half of it won’t make you a half dragon-half man figure though.


… my friend said he has gotta eat some beef tonight, because the lunch earlier was basically “beef-less” due to the small portion of beef found in his meal. So he ordered the Rock and Roll. It looked like pig’s intestines to me. Though it was quite ok, but I had only 2 max. Too cheesey.


… our first round of sushis are up for grab. Only after I’ve taken this photo.


… look at how thick the sweet soy sauce was. The only thing which put me off when dining in Sushi Groove.



… I wonder what were stuffed into the Fusion Dragon Roll that made it taste so gooood.

Our first round ended with nothing much in our stomach. Despite our lunch was rather late and I was still full when I started eating here, my appetite suddenly kicks in when I put in the first piece of sushi with jalapeño in my mouth. So I asked my friend, “let’s go for 2nd round?” And he nodded with a sinister smile and called me fatty.


… started off with Godzilla Roll, as the name got my attention.


… Firecracker Roll, I thought the name sounded nice, so I decided to try it. See if it would explodes inside my mouth.


… using firecrackers to scare off Godzilla? Perhaps this combination wouldn’t make me constipate as they balance out each other? Since when does eating sushi requires calculations?

Rating: 8/10

It was a great dinner, despite the bill came up to over RM120. But the variety of tastes and the quality of the nicely wrapped sushis were something which I really yearned for. I should keep a checklist on what I’ve taken and what I haven’t, because I starting to lost count already.


… aside from the wonderful dinner, we were given 2 cash vouchers of RM10 each, which can be used on our next visit. Check out the serial number! I can feel that I’m getting luckier already!

I guess tonight’s dinner was out of my norm, because I don’t recall having any unagi or soft shell crab temaki, but I still feel good about it! That’s the wonder of Sushi Groove!

Lat: 3° 8’54.62″N
Long: 101°36’57.23″E

Leave a Reply

