Dinner @ Heng Kee, PJ Old Town

Posted: 2008-08-07 by W in Dinner, Eat, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian

Went for bak kut teh (肉骨茶) dinner with my colleague. Just happened to find out that she loves the BKT here, on Monday. Hence I booked her on Thursday. Had it before I depart back to my hometown. It’s really hard to find people to join me for this BKT as most of my friends don’t like it. But I love it though.


… our dishes were served in less than 10 minutes of waiting. That’s the best part about dining here.


… despite not being served in clay pot bowl (as some said it tasted nicer in claypot, that’s utterly BS), it still tastes as good, if not better than most of the Klang’s BKT. The only cons of this would be, it got cooler much faster. So, eat faster!


… poh lei sang choi (glass vege – 玻璃生菜) with oyster sauce. *shrug*
No, there isn’t any glass pieces in it, don’t worry.


Chinese cruller (油條). How could I eat BKT without this, right? The Chinese cruller finished really early here. So, be fast!


… braised mushrooms. The smoothest, slippery mushroom I’ve had, commercially. It’s so slippery that it’s hard to even hold it with chopsticks. In fact, me and my friend has a name for it, we call it the “滑滑冬菇” (smooth-smooth mushroom).

I used to love this a lot back then, but I’ve stopped eating it because the sauce was foul with pork fats, which I don’t like it very much. (note the lean meat only bowl of BKT)


… taufu pok (fried beancurd). I used to dislike this a lot because I still remembered the very taste the moment I bit on it. Condom! (a friend mine can testifies against this too) Yes, it tasted like how a condom smells, but this bowl was good. I tried a little, no more such rubbery smell in its taste. Or probably it was on another piece? My colleague was enjoying it. Perhaps she was used to the taste? lol. I didn’t tell her about it though, since the taufu pok I tasted was ok. Don’t want to spoil her appetite.


… a shot of my bowl after eating 1/4 of it. They ran out of jalapeño, so I have to make do with normal red chili. It’s spicy but just doesn’t have the kind of fragrance that I preferred from jalapeño.


… look at the aftermath! We finally finished everything! Satisfactions guaranteed. Not to most of you all though, but definitely to me and my colleague.

Rating: 8/10

Would’ve gotten higher score if I didn’t order the braised mushroom. It kills my appetite when I had a taste of the gravy. The fats’ taste still there and the pungent smell. Ewww! My colleague doesn’t like it either. Nevertheless, it was still a great dinner. So, to those that said this BKT sucked, “fuck you!”

Oh, and I prefer only lean meat for my BKT. To those who said lean meat sucks in BKT, “fuck you too!”

Tell me which BKT stall serves you lean meat in nicely chopped up cutlets without even a hint of fats? huh? huh? HUH!?

Comments
  1. […] I bought these coconut flake some time back when I went to BKT with my […]

  2. […] The soup BKT wasn’t even as good as the average BKT I get from Taman Rasnah. I’d go for Heng Kee BKT anytime, compared to this. The vege was not as good as Heng Kee’s one as well. Anyway, […]

Leave a Reply

