Tomoe Japanese Restaurant, SS15

Posted: 2008-05-13 by W in 6.0 - 6.9, Drink, Eat, GPS, Japanese, Lunch, Maiden Experience, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian
Tags:

My colleague was complaining bored with the usual food that we had during lunch time. She said there is this new Japanese restaurant just opened in SS15, opposite of SJMC. So we went there for a look. Apparently, it was a showroom cum restaurant, or the other way round, because there were Mercedes cars for sale!

*I didn’t bring my big camera, so bear with me for the phone’s quality’s photos*


… I couldn’t comprehend what was this. The colour seemed as if it was scooped from Klang river.


… some kind of salad that came with the bento set. The sauce used was quite nice. Salty and sour, but a little too salty though.


… needless to say, almost everyone knows what the heck is this. In case you don’t, it’s called “cawanmushi”. I guess the cup was there for a reason, else it might be called “mangkukmushi”. Now, you wouldn’t want that, would you?


… my colleague ordered an unagi bento set. I didn’t know she likes unagi that much. I thought I was supposed to be the 1 ordering unagi bento set instead!? Look at the size of that unagi! Even without tasting it, she’s showing the thumb up sign.


… my other colleague ordered the fried chicken set. Chicken lover, hehe.


… as for me, I have had no choice. I wouldn’t want 2 sets of unagi bento on the table. So I ordered the “kare don”, meaning curry rice.

Rating: 6/10

Yup, not very high. Not that the food was bad. In fact, they were really goooood! The unagi slap was so big that you could use it to tampal your punctured tyre and you still have spare to feed your stomach. Unfortunately, it was as good as fixing your tyre, because your tyre wouldn’t mind the little bones in it. I think the bones in that slab of unagi was more than the number of days in a year. The chef needs to go back to Japan to retake his culinary exam.

I’ve always wondered how does Japanese curry rice tastes like, ever since I watched Yakitate!! Japan. This is the only Japanese restaurant I visited, that has curry rice on their menu. Finally, I would know how it felt like to do those impressions as seen in the anime. The way the curry was pour over the rice looked exactly like how it was in the anime. The taste? Good! Though it was a little too salty, but when you eat it with rice, it was just perfect. It would be even better if I’m a 250 pounds fatso, because I couldn’t finish my food! I was so hungry before I entered the place and I came out feeling so darn full and guilty, all thanks to the portion of rice that was meant for sumo wrestlers.

I can’t comment much on the fried chicken chop thingamajig set that chicken lover ordered. I had a piece, I think it was alright, and I wouldn’t order that if I’m visiting that restaurant again. Those white/yellowish goo? Those are cheese.

I hope I could visit the place again in the near future, though it wasn’t a cheap place to be. Probably they treat every patrons like a Mercedes Benz, hence the thick bill. Unagi eater wanted to buy me the lunch, but I insisted to pay her back because it was so very the expensive. It was like her whole week’s worth of lunches for that 1 meal. Though, I really appreciate the notion. Thank you!

Location: N3.07879 E101.59272

PS: The 3 of us have had leftovers. The unagi eater being the worst. I think she has got 1/2 left, while I was left with most of the rice and a little bit of curry. Chicken lover, as usual, always has left overs. Hehe.

Comments
  1. […] except that it has a little too salty. It was much better compared to the last one my colleague had last time, where the unagi was full of bones! The rest of the complimentary dishes, I basically discarded […]

Leave a Reply

