Pasta Zanmai, 1 Utama Old Wing

Posted: 2008-01-30 by W in Dinner, Drink, Eat, Non-halal, Non-vegetarian

Once I went into the shop right outside this restaurant. Unfortunately, at that time, I was very full, hence I didn’t stop by to try their restaurant food. Just shopped for some chocolates and left the place. I told my friend, we gotta try it out the next time we go 1 Utama again.

This time around, we marked the place for our dinner.


… the condiments include tabasco sauce, black pepper/sesame grind it yourself, salt (I think, no point giving sugar, ain’t it?) grind it yourself as well and chili powder. I forgotten to try out their chili powder.


… I wonder where did they source such chunky blocks of salt.


… deep fried prawns. They all looked so tired after getting fried, don’t they?


… some lala soup with some lala muis. I wonder where were the ah bengs.


… my friend ordered the burger, not quite. Cause it was missing the bun.


… but it can get really cheesy. As cheesy as you wanted it to be. Unfortunately, the cheese grinding girl doesn’t allow us to DIY. She just can’t part with her cheese and grinder.


… as usual, I’d order unagi without thinking twice. Despite they were being served on top of pasta accompanied by an egg with runny yolk.


… coffee with separate sugar syrup.


… you have had to add the sugar in. The coffee was tasteless.


… here you are! Ah beng was found soaking half of his body into the crab soup. According to my friend, this soup was so worth it because it was about the same price as the lala mui soup, but this has a whole big crab in… or on it.


… floaty iced mocha, I think. This was supposed to be my order, somehow I took the wrong thing and I drank the coffee my friend ordered.

Note to self: Never DO that again!


… the food was very filling, I guess it was because of the used of pasta.


… remember the logo. You might stop by someday

Rating: 6/10

I guess I wouldn’t frequent this restaurant much. The idea of having unagi, served on pasta with a half cooked egg with runny yolk just doesn’t suit my taste. I was basically cringing the whole time while trying to swallow the yolk.

I love unagis. I do like pasta, especially spaghetti. I love half boiled eggs. But never like them when they are being put together.

Lat: 3° 8’54.62″N
Long: 101°36’57.23″E

Comments
  1. […] Eat, Halal, Meat. trackback After trying both unique japanese restaurants, Sushi Groove and Pasta Zanmai, we still preferred Sushi Groove, despite the higher price tag. It was unfortunate that I […]

  2. […] 2008-05-11 Posted by W in Dinner, Eat, Meat, Non-halal. trackback Not long after my visit to Pasta Zanmai, 1Utama spawned yet another Japanese restaurant called Sushi Zanmai. It has similar logo, […]

Leave a Reply

